Virat Kohli named Wisden’s Leading Cricketer in the World for 2016

Virat Kohli won Wisden’s ‘Leading Cricketer’ honour for 2016 after a brilliant run of form in all formats of cricket.

cricket Updated: Apr 05, 2017 16:42 IST
New Delhi
Virat Kohli,Wisden’s Leading Cricketer in the World for 2016,Virat Kohli Cricket
Virat Kohli scored an impressive 1215 Test runs at a brilliant average of 75.93 in 2016.(PTI)

India cricket team skipper Virat Kolhi was named Wisden’s Leading Cricketer in the World for 2016 on Wednesday, adding another feather to his already crowded cap. (IPL SCHEDULE)

Kohli scored 1215 Test runs at a brilliant average of 75.93 last year. His 10 ODI appearances fetched him 739 runs at 92.37, while he scored 641 T20 International runs at 106.83.

READ | IPL 2017: Depleted RCB seek revenge in grudge encounter against champions SRH

Only six batsmen have ever scored more international runs in a calendar year than Kohli but none of them have come close to the Team India captain’s average.

“Virat Kohli, who features on the cover of the 2017 edition of the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, is also the Leading Cricketer in the World for 2016, an accolade put in place in 2003 when Ricky Ponting became the first honouree,” Wisden announced.

The 28-year-old became the third Indian cricketer to win the award, which has been running since 2003 and covers all the three formats of the game in the preceding calendar year. Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag earned the honour twice by Wisden, while legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar won it once.

Owing to his phenomenal run with the bat, Kohli had won the prestigious ‘Polly Umrigar award’ presented to the ‘International Cricketer of the Year’ at the BCCI Annual Awards.

READ | Virat Kohli and the art of keeping cool in IPL

Kohli has already been declared Wisden India Almanack’s Cricketer of the Year in its 2017 edition.

Two Pakistani cricketers -- Misbah-ul-Haq and Younis Khan -- have been named in the list of the five Cricketers of the Year for the first time since 1997.

With Misbah and Younis making the list, the total number of Pakistanis to have been chosen Cricketers of the Year went up to 14, one less than India’s tally of 15.

Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack honours:

Leading Cricketer in the World: Virat Kohli

Leading Woman Cricketer in the World: Ellyse Perry

Cricketers of the Year: Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Ben Duckett, Toby Roland-Jones, Chris Woakes.

First Published: Apr 05, 2017 16:20 IST