Gujarat Assembly Election 2022: Full list of Congress winners

By, New Delhi
Dec 08, 2022 07:17 PM IST

Gujarat Assembly Election 2022 results: The party finished way behind the BJP, which has been in power in the state since 1995.

Gujarat Assembly election 2022 results: The Congress will continue to remain in opposition in Gujarat, as it finished a distant second to the ruling BJP in the recently-held assembly election in prime minister Narendra Modi and home minister Amit Shah's native state, the votes cast for which were counted on Thursday..

Representative Image
Representative Image

Click here for live updates on vote counting

However, besides failing to dislodge the saffron party – in power here since 1995 – the grand old party has, thus far, failed to win even 20 seats. While the BJP is closing in on 150 seats in the 182-member assembly, the Congress's tally stands at just 16, with one more party candidate leading from his constituency.

Also Read: Decoding why the Congress ended up with its worst performance in Gujarat

Here's a list of Congress candidates who won, or are in the lead:

SeatCongress candidateStatus
AnklavAmit ChavdaWinner (margin: 2,729 votes; runner-up: BJP)
BansdaAnantkumar Hasmukhbhai PatelWinner (margin; 35,033; runner-up: BJP)
ChanasmaThakor Dineshbhai AtajiWinner (margin: 1,404; runner-up: BJP)
DanilimdaShailesh Manubhai ParmarWinner (margin: 13,487; runner-up: BJP)
DantaKantibhai Kalabhai KharadiWinner (margin: 6,327; runner-up: BJP)
Jamalpur-KhadiaImran KhedawalaWinner (margin: 13,658; runner-up: BJP)
KankrejAmrutji Motiji ThakorWinner (margin: 5,295 votes; runner-up: BJP)
KhambhatChiragkumar Arvindbhai PatelWinner (margin: 3,711; runner-up: BJP)
KhedbrahmaDr Tushar Amarsinh ChaudharyLeading (margin: 2,048; trailing: BJP)
LunawadaGulabsinh Somsinh ChauhanWinner (margin: 26,620; runner-up: BJP)
ManavadarArvindbhai Jinabhai LadaniWinner (margin: 3,453; runner-up: BJP)
PatanKiritkumar Chimanlal PatelWinner (margin: 17,177; runner-up: BJP)
PorbandarArjunbhai Devabhai ModhwadiaWinner (margin: 8,181; runner-up: BJP)
SomnathChudasma Vimalbhai KanabhaiWinner (margin: 922; runner-up: BJP)
VadgamJignesh MevaniWinner (margin: 4,928; runner-up: BJP)
VavThakor Geniben NagajiWinner (margin: 15,601; runner-up: BJP)
VijapurDr CJ ChavdaWinner (margin: 7,053; runner-up: BJP)

The grand old party did not field candidates for three constituencies (Umreth, Naroda, and Devgarh Baria); on these, its ally, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), fielded its candidates. All three suffered defeat.


    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, March 31, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals