New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 19, 2020-Wednesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Fifa U17 World Cup 2017 / FIFA U-17 World Cup: A brief history of the tournament

FIFA U-17 World Cup: A brief history of the tournament

The 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup will be held between October 6-28 and here’s a look at the history of the competition.

fifa-u17-world-cup-2017 Updated: Sep 25, 2017 19:25 IST
The 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup will be held in India between October 6-28.
The 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup will be held in India between October 6-28.(Twitter)

The FIFA under-17 World Cup was started way back in 1985 in Chile, but as an under-16 championship. The age-cap was increased in 1991 and has stayed that way ever since. The tournament is held every two years India will host the event’s 17th edition in October, when the event gets underway. The event also featured just 16 teams in the initial stages but in 2005, that too was changed to include 24 teams. Nigeria is the defending World champion and is also the most successful side in the tournament’s history, having lifted the trophy for a record five times. Saudi Arabia, however, hold the unique distinction to be the only Asian country to have won the World Cup back in 1989.

1985ChinaNigeriaWest Germany2-0
1987CanadaSoviet UnionNigeria1–1 (4–2*)
1989ScotlandSaudi ArabiaScotland2–2 (5–4*)
1999New ZealandBrazilAustralia0–0 (8–7*)
2001Trinidad & Tobago FranceNigeria3–0
2007South Korea NigeriaSpain0–0 (3–0*)
2013Arab EmiratesNigeriaMexico3-0
(* on penalties)

Goals in each World Cup

Out of the 16 World Cups held till date, the 100-goal mark has been breached 10 times so far, with the first such instance coming in the 1993 edition held in Japan. However, since the turn of the century in 2001, every edition of the under-17 World Cup has seen more than a 100 goals being scored. That, however, can also attributed to the fact that 24 teams were allowed to participate in the tournaments since 2005. The highest number of goals so far was scored in the 2013 edition with goalkeepers being beaten 172 times in 52 matches at an average of 3.30. In terms of frequency, however, both the 1997 and 2003 World Cups saw 117 goals scored at an average of 3.65.

1999New Zealand1632932.90
2001Trinidad & Tobago 16321023.18
2005Peru1632111 3.46
2007South Korea 24521653.17
2013Arab Emirates24521723.30

Top scorer in each World Cup

There has been just one player in the tournament’s history to have breached the 10-goal mark so far. And it came in the last edition with Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen scoring 10 goals en route to guiding his side to their fifth World Cup victory. France’s Florent Sinama Pongolle and Ivory Coast’s Souleymane Coulibaly sit joint on the second spot with nine goals each to their name. And on the third sits Marcel Witeczek (playing for then West Germany) who scored eight goals in the inaugural edition.

YearVenuePlayer and goals
1985ChinaMarcel Witeczek (West Germany) 8
1987CanadaMoussa Traore (Ivory Coast) 5
Yuri Nikiforov (Soviet Union) 5
1989ScotlandFode Camara (Guinea) 3
Khaled Jasem (Qatar) 3
Gil Gomes (Portugal) 3
Tulipa (Portugal) 3
Khalid Al Rowaihi (Saudi Arabia) 3
1991ItalyAdriano (Brazil) 4
Nii Lamptey (Ghana) 4
1993JapanWilson Oruma (Nigeria) 6
1995EcuadorDaniel Allsopp(Australia) 5
Mohammed Amar Al-Kathiri (Oman) 5
1997EgyptDavid (Spain) 7
1999New ZealandIshmael Addo (Ghana) 7
2001Trinidad & Tobago Florent Sinama Pongolle (France) 9
2003FinlandCesc Fabregas (Spain) 5
Carlos Hidalgo (Colombia) 5
Manuel Curto (Portugal) 5
2005PeruCarlos Vela (Mexico) 5
2007South Korea Macauley Chrisantus (Nigeria) 7
2009NigeriaSani Emmanuel (Nigeria) 5
Borja Baston (Spain) 5
2011MexicoSouleymane Coulibaly (Ivory Coast) 9
2013Arab EmiratesValmir Berisha (Sweden) 7
2015ChileVictor Osimhen (Nigeria) 10

Matches with the most goals
11th September, 1997 (Ismalia, Egypt)13 — New Zealand 0-13 Spain
19th August 2003, (Helsinki, Finland)10 —Colombia 9-1 Finland
20th August 2003, (Tampere, Finland)10 — Portugal 5-5 Cameroon
20th August 1991, (Livorno, Italy)9 — Cuba 2-7 Spain