Cristiano Ronaldo joins Lionel Messi as five-time winner of FIFA player award
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cristiano Ronaldo joins Lionel Messi as five-time winner of FIFA player award

Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid star, was crowned FIFA Best player of the year, at the London Palladium theater attended by runner-up Lionel Messi and third-placed Neymar.

football Updated: Oct 24, 2017 12:06 IST
Associated Press
Associated Press
Associated Press, London
Cristiano Ronaldo,Lionel Messi,FIFA
Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi at the FIFA Best Player of The Year ceremony in London.(REUTERS)

Cristiano Ronaldo has caught up with Lionel Messi to become a five-time winner of FIFA’s best player award.

The Real Madrid forward was crowned player of the year on Monday at the FIFA Best ceremony at the London Palladium theater attended by runner-up Messi and third-placed Neymar.

READ | How a ‘skinny’ Cristiano Ronaldo cried, sneaked out at night to live his dreams

A second successive honour for Ronaldo was expected after a season in which the Portuguese eclipsed his award counterparts in the trophy stakes.

As well as Spanish league and Spanish Super Cup success, Ronaldo scored twice in the Champions League final against Juventus to win European football’s elite competition for the third time in four seasons.

READ | FIFA U-17 World Cup: This is why Brazil’s Paulinho idolises Cristiano Ronaldo

Ronaldo’s coach at Madrid, Zinedine Zidane, was crowned coach of the year.

FIFA has shifted its award ceremony from its usual January slot to October so players are judged across a season — based on the typical European schedule — rather than the calendar year.

Record of Cristiano Ronaldo, FIFA Player of the Year . (AFP)

The women’s award honoured the Netherlands’ success at the European Championship in August. Lieke Martens, who scored in the final win over Denmark, won the player’s award and Sarina Wiegman collected the coaching accolade.

READ | Why Cristiano Ronaldo pleaded with pop star Madonna

The Puskas Award for best goal went to Arsenal striker Olivier Giroud for a scorpion-style kick. The Puskas Award-winning goal from an overhead back-heeled strike came on New Year’s Day in Arsenal’s 2-0 victory over Crystal Palace in the English Premier League.

First Published: Oct 24, 2017 08:13 IST