Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Obama, Putin, Sarkozy, Shinzo Abe: Guests who graced Republic Day celebrations

World leaders like then US President Barack Obama, Russian President Vladimir Putin, French presidents Nicolas Sarkozy and Francois Hollande have attended the Republic Day parade at Rajpath in the past.

india Updated: Jan 26, 2018 20:13 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Republic Day,69th Republic Day,Republic Day parade
Then US President Barack Obama and Prime Minister Narendra Modi watch the fly-past during the Republic Day parade in 2015.(AFP)

The Republic Day celebrations, which showcase India’s military might and cultural diversity, have been witnessed by a number of world leaders, including the likes of Barack Obama, Vladimir Putin and Shinzo Abe, over the years.

This year, however, 10 Asean leaders attended the Republic Day parade at Rajpath which was unprecedented and reflective of India’s stature as a major power in the region where China has been trying to expand its influence.

The Asean leaders joined President Ram Nath Kovind and Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the parade.

Myanmar’s State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi, Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte, Thai Prime Minister Gen Prayut Chan-o-cha, Singaporean Premier Lee Hsien Loong and Brunei’s Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah attended the event.

Indonesian President Joko Widodo, Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak, Prime Minister of Laos Thongloun Sisoulith and Cambodian Premier Hun Sen also watched the grand parade.

World leaders who attended the Republic Day parade:

2017 - Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan

2016 - French President Francois Hollande

2015 - US President Barack Obama

2014 - Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe

2013 - Bhutanese king Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck

2012 - Thailand’s first woman Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra

2011 - Indonesia’s President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono

2010 - South Korea’s President Lee Myung Bak

2009 - Kazakhstan President Nursultan Nazarbayev

2008 - French President Nicolas Sarkozy

2007 - Russian President Vladimir Putin

First Published: Jan 26, 2018 20:12 IST