Twist in Telangana poll tale, BJP's Reddy, not Revanth Reddy defeats KCR | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Twist in Telangana election results, BJP's Venkata Ramana Reddy, not Congress's Revanth Reddy defeats CM KCR

Dec 03, 2023 07:00 PM IST

Telangana election results 2023: Kamareddy assembly constituency witnessed a triangle battle between KCR, K Venkata Ramana Reddy and Revanth Reddy.

Telangana election results 2023: In a twist to the Telangana assembly election results, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader K Venkata Ramana Reddy ended up winning the Kamareddy assembly constituency against state Congress chief Revanth Reddy and chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao of the Bharat Rashtra Samiti on Sunday.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader K Venkata Ramana Reddy
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader K Venkata Ramana Reddy

As per the Election Commission of India data, Venkata Ramana Reddy was won by 6,741 votes against his closest rival KCR (59,911 votes). Revanth Reddy, who was leading the race after initial rounds of vote counting, came third with 54,916 votes.

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

The Kamareddy assembly constituency, located around 120 km away from Hyderabad, has become the hotspot of this election in Telangana, as it is witnessing a triangle battle among BRS supremo and chief minister KCR, his challenger Congress state unit chief, and the K Venkata Ramana Reddy.

BJP IT department head Amit Malviya took to X to congratulate Ramana Reddy. “Meet BJP’s Katipally Venkata Ramana, the giant slayer of these elections, who defeated both sitting CM KCR and incoming (hopefully) CM Revanth Reddy, from Kamareddy in Telangana. BJP will not just win big in Lok Sabha, it will also storm to power in Telangana, next time,” Malviya wrote.

Who is Venkata Ramana Reddy?

Ramana Reddy, who dedicated his victory to the people of Kamareddy, began his political journey with the Congress and was elected as a member of the Mandal Parishad Territorial Council in erstwhile Nizamabad district during the YS Rajasekhara Reddy (YSR) government in 2004.

He subsequently went on to become a Zilla Parishad Territorial Council member and eventually served as zilla parishad chairperson.

Meanwhile, thanking senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi and AICC chief Mallikarjun Kharge, Revanth Reddy on Sunday said it is the party's responsibility to fulfil Telangana people’s aspirations after forming the government in the state.

Speaking to mediapersons, he said the Congress’s victory is dedicated to Telangana martyrs. He welcomed the BRS Working president’s wishes to the Congress party on its victory, and said he expects the BRS's cooperation in giving good governance to the people.

Unveiling 'Elections 2024: The Big Picture', a fresh segment in HT's talk show 'The Interview with Kumkum Chadha', where leaders across the political spectrum discuss the upcoming general elections. Watch Now!

Get Current Updates on India News, Rajya Sabha Election 2024 Live, Gaganyaan Mission Astronauts along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On