Himachal Pradesh election result: Virbhadra Singh accepts Congress’ defeat

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh on Monday accepted the Congress party’s defeat in the state assembly elections.

india Updated: Dec 18, 2017 16:54 IST
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service, Shimla
Himachal Pradesh election result,Himachal Pradesh election,eci.nic.in
Before going to the home station Rampur for vote casting chief minister Virbhadra Singh talking with party workers at his hose Holly Lodge, Shimla on Wednesday, November 08 2017.(HT File Photo)

Himachal Pradesh chief minister Virbhadra Singh on Monday accepted the Congress party’s defeat in the state assembly elections.

Follow Live Himachal Election coverage here

“I own responsibility for my party’s defeat,” he told reporters here.

He was categorical in accepting the mandate by saying: “It’s the people’s decision to make one victorious. This is their right.”

Six-time chief minister, Singh, who won his Arki seat with a margin of 6,051 votes, blamed the party’s central leadership for lack of campaigning.

“Whatever are the shortcomings, I did my best during campaigning alone in the state and that too, within my resources,” he added.

He refused to put the blame on Congress president Rahul Gandhi. “The elections were conducted under my leadership and I accept our defeat.”

Click here to see Himachal Pradesh election results broken down by party, coalition, gender, margin of victory, and more.

His son, Vikramaditya Singh, tasted his maiden victory in the assembly from Shimla (Rural).

Congress cabinet ministers Sudhir Sharma, Thakur Singh and Prakash Chaudhary faced defeat from the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The BJP was set to wrest power in Himachal Pradesh with its candidates on a victory lap in 36 of the 68 seats in the Assembly elections. The party won 21 seats as counting of ballots progressed.

However, BJP’s state chief Satpal Singh Satti faced a humiliating defeat, while its chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal was trailing with a huge margin.

The ruling Congress managed to win only 10 seats.

First Published: Dec 18, 2017 16:47 IST