Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Consolation win for West Indies

The visitors won by three wickets with two balls remaining in the fifth one-dayer at Auckland on Saturday.

india Updated: Mar 04, 2006 17:08 IST
Associated Press
Associated Press

The West Indies beat New Zealand by three wickets with two balls remaining in the fifth limited-overs cricket international on Saturday, avoiding a humiliating whitewash in the five-match series.

Daren Ganga, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wavell Hinds and Denesh Ramdin made vital contributions as the West Indies reached 234 for seven in reply to New Zealand's total of 233 in 49.3 overs.

New Zealand clinched the series 4-1 after winning the first match by 81 runs, the second by three wickets, the third by 21 runs and the fourth, at Napier on Wednesday, by 91 runs.

Dwayne Smith took five for 45 as the West Indies bowled New Zealand out for the first time in the series and steady contributions throughout the order carried the visitors to victory in a measured run-chase.

Scott Styris scored 90 to underpin the New Zealand total but Smith's outstanding bowling performance— his best in limited-overs matches— held the home side to its lowest total of the series.

The West Indies began their run chase with painstaking slowness, reaching 10-1 after 10 overs but their scoring rate accelerated gradually and they were able to reach their winning target from the fourth ball of the final over.

Ganga made 34 to hold up the top of the order, then Runako Morton made 22 and Dwayne Bravo 38 to give the early middle order important solidity. The run chase gained momentum through the final 20 overs as Chanderpaul made 41 from 47 balls, Ramdin a decisive 38 from 26 balls and as Wavell Hinds steered the innings with an unbeaten 40.

The West Indies faced a required run rate of more than eight runs per over at times during their innings but Ramdin's bright contribution, which included five fours, and Hinds' longevity at the crease decided the match in their favor.

The victory was the West Indies second in 15 recent one-day internationals and boosted their confidence ahead of the first of three Test matches against New Zealand which starts on Thursday. Earlier, New Zealand struggled to produce a competitive total on an old and slow wicket.

Fidel Edwards bowled a hostile opening spell, dismissing Nathan Astle whom he previously struck with a steepling bouncer, and Ian Bradshaw provided support with a spell of controlled in-swing as New Zealand slumped early to 8 for two.

Styris led the recovery, coming to the crease at 59 for three and batting until the 49th over, taking his 90 runs from 119 balls in 148 minutes with four fours.

Smith bowled the best spell of the series for the West Indies, taking five for 45 from 10 overs He stood briefly on a hat trick in his last over as he dismissed Styris and James Franklin with successive balls.


New Zealand: Lou Vincent b Bradshaw 1, Stephen Fleming c Ramdin b Smith 32, Nathan Astle c Ramdin b Edwards 4, Ross Taylor b Bradshaw 31, Scott Styris c&b Smith 90, Peter Fulton c Gayle b Hinds 19, Hamish Marshall b Smith 19, Brendan McCullum c Ramdin b Smith 10, James Franklin c Taylor b Smith 7, Kyle Mills not out 2, Shane Bond b Edwards 5, Extras (lb-2, w-8, nb-3) 13, Total: (all out in 49.3 overs) 233.

Fall of wkts: 1-2, 2-8, 3-59, 4-96, 5-146, 6-188, 7-200, 8-224, 9-224.

Did not bat: Jeetan Patel (suber sub).

Bowling: Fidel Edwards 9.3-0-53-2, Ian Bradshaw 9-1-49-2, Jerome Taylor 7-0-30-0, Chris Gayle 10-0-36-0, Dwayne Smith 10-0-45-5, Wavell Hinds 4-0-18-1.

West Indies: Chris Gayle b Bond 2, Daren Ganga c Mills b Patel 34, Runako Morton b Franklin 22, Dwayne Bravo st McCullum b Astle 38, Dwayne Smith c Vincent b Bond 16, Shivnarine Chanderpaul c Patel b Mills 41, Wavell Hinds not out 40, Denesh Ramdin c Styris b Bond 38, Rawl Lewis not out 0, Extras: (lb-1, w-1, nb-1) 3, Total: (for seven wickets in 49.4 overs) 234.

Fall of wkts: 1-6, 2-54, 3-72, 4-98, 5-125, 6-175, 7-233.

Did not bat: Ian Bradshaw, Fidel Edwards, Jerome Taylor.

Bowling: Kyle Mills 9-3-37-1, Shane Bond 9.4-2-32-3, James Franklin 8-0-38-1, Scott Styris 6-0-26-0, Jeetan Patel 10-0-58-1, Nathan Astle 7-0-42-1.

Umpires: Daryl Harper (Australia), Tony Hill (New Zealand). TV umpire: Billy Bowden (New Zealand); Match referee: Mike Procter (South Africa).

Result: West Indies won by three wickets

Series: New Zealand win 4-1.

First Published: Mar 04, 2006 17:08 IST