HT Image
HT Image

DAN all set to form govt in Nagaland

The Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) emerges as frontrunner to form the govt with the conglomerate bagging 29 of 57 seats.
PTI | By HT Correspondent, Kohima
UPDATED ON MAR 08, 2008 08:28 PM IST

The Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) on Saturday, emerged as frontrunner to form the government in the state with the conglomerate bagging 29 of the 57 seats, results for which were declared, and needing just two more to reach the required number.

The Nagaland People's Front (NPF), which heads the DAN, won 25 seats while its opponent Congress bagged 22. NCP and BJP secured two seats each.

NPF, BJP, JD-U and NCP forged a pre-poll alliance but contested the elections on separate manifestos.

Six Independents also won from their respective constituencies.

Analysts said the three seats, where counting was not held, are NPF strongholds.

Among NPF winners were its president Shurhozelie, who retained his Northern Angami seat for the sixth time.

Former chief minister and NPF candidate Neiphiu Rio won from Northern Angami II seat defeating his Congress rival Sevetso by over 10,000 votes. Rio retained the seat for the fifth time.

Nagaland Assembly Speaker Kiyanlilie Peseyie won from Western Angami seat. Former home minister Thenucho lost the the Chazouba seat to Independent Chotisuh Sazo.

Prominent Congress winners were former chief minister K L Chishi, former CLP leader I Imkong and C Apok Jamir, son of Goa Governor S C Jamir.

Nagaland was brought under President's Rule recently in the wake of the fluid political situation and the state assembly was subsequently dissolved. Counting of votes for three assembly segments under Zunheboto district would begin tomorrow with repoll held there today under tight security.

Story Saved