Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Day 2: India and the Diaspora

India and the Diaspora

india Updated: Jan 07, 2004 22:12 IST

DAY – 2: January 10, 2004 2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

Round-table on Voluntary Sector & Development-Pravasi Bharatiyas: India’s Partner in Social development
2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

Chair: Mr Sudershan Agarwal, Governor of Uttaranchal, India

Moderator: Mr Harsh Mander, Country Director, Action Aid India

2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

Indian Panelists

  • Ms Priya Vishwanath, Chief Executive Officer, Charities Aid Foundation India
  • Dr Ashok Khosla, President, Development Alternative Mr Venkat Krishnan, Director, GIVE Foundation

NRI Panelists

  • Dato’ G.Palanivel, Dy Minister of Rural Development, Malaysia
  • Mr Kabir Kumar, Director of Field Operations, Indicorps, USA
  • Mr Anil Purohit, Executive Director, FXB US Foundation, USA
  • Dr Arjun Daluvoy, Director, Dept of Surgery, Desert Valley Medical Center, USA
  • Mr Raj Loomba, Chairman & Mg. Director, Rinku of Loomba, PLC, UK
  • Mr Raju Rajagopal, Executive Member, Indians for Collective action, USA


  • Mr Praveen Srivastava, Jt Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India*
  • Mr P L Singh, Chairman, CBDT, Ministry of Finance, Government of India*
  • Mr A K Singh, Chairman, CBEC, Ministry of Finance, Government of India*
Session: Tourism- Diaspora: A Natural Partner
2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

Chair: Mr Inder Sharma, Chairman, Select Holiday Resorts Ltd., India

Co-Chair and Moderator: Mr M.P.Bezbaruah, WTO Permanent Representative, India

Special Addresses:

  • Mr Jagmohan, Minister for Tourism and Culture, India
  • Mr Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Minister of State for Civil Aviation, India*

Indian Panelists:

  • Shriji Arvind Singh Mewar, CMD, Historic Resorts Hotel Pvt Ltd
  • Mr Saroj K Datta, Executive Director, Jet Airways
  • Mr Subhash Goyal, Chairman, STIC Travels Private Ltd Mr Lalit
  • Suri, Chairman, FICCI Tourism Committee and President, Hotel Association of India
2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

NRI Panelists

  • Hon’ble George Shiu Raj, Minister for Multiethnic Affairs, FIJI*
  • Mr Anil Kumarsingh Gayan, Minister of Tourism and Leisure, Mauritius
  • Mr Hitesh Bhakta, Chairman, AAHOA, USA
  • Mr Fred Schwartz, President, AAHOA, USA
  • Mr Mukesh Mowji, Treasurer, AAHOA, USA
  • Mr Dhundev Bauhadoor, Chairman, GOPIO International, Mauritius
  • Mr Manubhai M Madhvani, Sr. Director, Madhvani Group of Companies, Uganda
  • Mr Gautam Broota, General Manager, Zubair Travels, Sultanate of Oman
Session: Legal Issues in the context of Private International Law and the Diaspora
2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

Chair: Mr Justice R S Pathak, Former Chief Justice of India

Co Chair: Prof Ved P. Nanda, Director, International Legal Studies, University of Denver, USA

2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.

Indian Panelists :

  • Mr B Sen, Sr. Advocate, Supreme Court
  • Mr M .L.Sarin, Sr Advocate
  • Prof.V C Govindaraj, Vice President, The Indian Society of International Law
  • Ms Gita Mittal, Gita Mittal & Associates, Advocates
  • Dr A Jayagovind, Director, National Law School of India University
  • Dr Prit Paul Kaur, Senior Sociology Faculty, Punjab Police Academy
  • Prof. Pam RajputRajput, Professor of Political Science and Director, Centre for Women’s Studies & Development, Punjab University

NRI Panelists :

  • Mr Cyrus D Mehta, Cyrus D Mehta & Associates, PLLC, USA
  • Mr Justice Santi Thakral, Central Tax Court, Thailand
  • Mr Ashwin Hirjee Trikamjee, President, Hindu Maha Sabha, Attorney and Acting Judge, South Africa
  • Dr Kamlesh Bahl, Former Vice President, Law Society of England and Wales, UK
  • Mr Iqbal I. Dewji, Barrister & Solicitor, Canada
  • Mr D.K. Agrawal, Retired Judge & Barrister-at-Law, Canada
2.00 p.m.-4.30 p.m.


  • Dr K.N.Chaturvedi, Member Secretary, Law Commission of India
  • Dr S. Muralidhar, Member, Law Commission of India


First Published: Jan 07, 2004 00:00 IST