Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind


Once represented by Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, the BJP has been winning the seat since 1996, thanks to the polarisation of the votes.

india Updated: Apr 04, 2004 15:28 IST

A prestigious constituency of Haryana with a large number of Muslim votes, it was once represented by Maulana Abul Kalam Azad. However, despite the large number of generally pro-Congress Muslims, the BJP has been representing the seat since 1996 -- thanks to the polarisation of the votes.

This time, the Harnaya COngress chief Bhajan Lal has announced to contest from here and his main challenger would once again be BJP's sitting 'Member of Parliament' Bainda. Bhajan Lal had won the seat in 1984 also.

In 1999, the seat was won by Ramchander Bainda of BJP by a margin of 34,248 votes over Zakir Hussain of Congress in a 12-cornered contest. In 1996, Ram Chander Bainda had trounced Acvtar Singh of Congress by 61,516 votes.

In 1991, Avtar Singh Bhadana of Congress drubbed Khurshid Ahmed of Janata Dal by 51,522 votes while in 1989 the seat had gone to Congress' high profile Bhajan Lal who defeated Khurshid Choudhury of Janata Dal by 1.31 lakh votes. In 1984, Rahim Khan of Congress had defeated Tayyab Hussain of ICJ by 1.35 votes.

In the Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency from 1952 to 1971, the Faridabad constituency in Haryana has the largest presenceof Muslims in the state who comprise 25% of the electors. The 16% Scheduled Castes, 15% Jats, 13% Aroras and Khatris, 8% Brahmins, 6% Banias and 6% Gujjars are the other dominant communities in the constituency.
Chamars (10%), and Balmikis (3%) are the leading sub-castes among the Scheduled Castes in the constituency.

First Published: Mar 27, 2004 13:32 IST