Five Chhattisgarh ministers bite the dust | india | Hindustan Times
  • Sunday, Jun 24, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 24, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Five Chhattisgarh ministers bite the dust

Five ministers, including home minister and deputy speaker of assembly, lost the assembly election.

india Updated: Dec 10, 2013 16:19 IST

In an embarrassment to ruling BJP in Chhattisgarh, five ministers, including Home Minister Nankiram Kanwar, and Deputy Speaker of Assembly Narayan Chandel, lost the assembly election.

Kanwar was defeated by Shyamlal Kanwar of Congress by 9,915 votes from Rampur constituency in Korba district.

Agriculture Minister Chandrashekhar Sahu lost to Dhanendra Sahu of Congress by 8,354 votes from Abhanpur constituency of Raipur district.

Water Resources Minister Ramvichar Netam was trounced by Brihspat Singh of Congress by 11,592 votes from Ramanujganj constituency Sarguja district.

Sports minister Lata Usendi lost to Congress candidate Mohan Markam from Kondagaon seat by 5,135 votes.

Deputy Speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly Narayan Chandel was defeated by Congress' Moti Lal Dewangan by 10,211 votes from Janjgir-Champa seat.

Panchayat Minister Hemchand Yadav lost to the Congress candiadate Arun Vora, the son of AICC Treasurer Motilal Vora from Durg city seat by 5,621 votes.

Amit Jogi, son of former Chhattisgarh chief minister Ajit Jogi, won by 46,250 votes from Kota seat of Bilaspur district against Sameera Paikra of BJP.

Veteran Congress leader Motilal Vora's son Arun defeated BJP's Hemchand Yadav by a margin of 5,621 votes in Durg city.

However, some ministers managed to retain their seats.

Health Minister Amar Agrawal won the Bilaspur seat against Vani Rao of Congress, who is currently Bilaspur Mayor, by 15,599 votes.

Housing and Environment Minister Rajesh Munat defeated Congress' young face Vikas Upadhyay from Raipur city west seat by 6,160 votes.

Forest Minister Vikra Usendi defeated Manturam Pawar of Congress from Antagarh constituency by 5,171 votes.

Tribal Welfare Minister Kedar Kashyap defeated Chandan Singh Kashyap of Congress from Narayanpur seat by 12,800 votes.