HT Image
HT Image

Ganguly returns, as India make three changes

India wins toss and decides to bat, with three changes in it's line-up.
PTI | By IANS, Dambulla
UPDATED ON AUG 05, 2005 04:00 PM IST

India won the toss and elected to bat first against Sri Lanka in a crucial encounter of the one-day triangular series at the Rangiri Dambulla Stadium here on Wednesday.

India made three changes from the XI that beat the West Indies Sunday, while Sri Lanka effected a solitary change from the side that thrashed the West Indies here Tuesday.

Along with Sourav Ganguly, who returned to the XI after serving out the four-match ban, VVS Laxman, who will play his first match of the tournament, and pacer Lakshmipathy Balaji returned to the team. Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan and Y Venugopal Rao went out.

In the Sri Lankan XI, off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan was replaced by pacer Pradeep Jayadharana, a late replacement in the XV for an indisposed Nuwan Zoysa.

India: Rahul Dravid (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Mohammed Kaif, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket keeper), Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Ashish Nehra and Lakshmipathy Balaji.

Sri Lanka: Marvan Atapattu (captain), Mahela Jayawardene (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, TM Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Upul Chandana, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Dilhara Fernando, Pradeep Jayaprakash Daran and Fervez Maharoof.

Umpires: TH Wijewardene (Sri Lanka) and Daryl Harper (Australia)
Third umpire: Asoka De Silva (Sri Lanka)
Match referee: Mike Proctor (South Africa)

Story Saved