Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 12, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Highest literary academy award of J & K announced

Eight literatteurs of J & K will be awarded highest literary academy award by CM Ghulam Nabi Azad.

india Updated: Feb 18, 2006 15:53 IST

Eight prominent writers and poets of Jammu and Kashmir will be presented with the highest literary academy award of the state.

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, who is also the President of Academy of Art, Culture and Languages, has approved the Award.

Secretary of Academy of Art, Culture and Languages L R Sharma, said today that on the recommendations of a three-member jury in each language, the highest academy award in literature for best books has been announced.

The award will be presented at a special function in Jammu in April by the Chief Minister.

The award carries a cash prize of Rs 25,000, a memento and a shawl.

Mohammad Yousuf Taing's Raash has been adjudged the best book in Kashmiri language. The award for Dogri has gone to Krishan Sharma for his book Dhaldi Duph Da Seaik.

Syed Imtiaz Naseem Hashmi has been awarded for his book in Pahari Chitkara.

"Rashat-e-Ayaam" by Syed Rasool Popmur will get the award in Urdu while Ms Chaderkanta will receive it for her book in Hindi titled Katha Satisar.

The award in Punjabi has gone to Prof Sewa Singh for his book Jammkashmir Wich Punjabi Sahit Diyan Wangyan. In Ladakhi, the award will be presented to Thupstan Paldan for his book Festivals of Ladakh.

Mr Sharma further said that since 2001-02, the award is being given to the author, but only once in a lifetime.

To encourage talent and excellence, best book awards were instituted by the Academy in 1966. Initially, the award was divided into two categories -- first and second award carrying the prize money of Rs 1000 and Rs 700 respectively in each language.

However, the prize money was later increased to Rs 25,000, he added.

First Published: Feb 18, 2006 15:53 IST