ICC Champions Trophy: A brief history

Updated on Sep 20, 2004 12:29 PM IST

This is the fourth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, which is staged every two years.

HT Image
HT Image

This is the fourth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, which is staged every two years.

Also known as the mini World Cup, the event was originally introduced as the ICC Knock-out tournament in 1998.

It has now evolved into a round-robin competition with teams split into pool groups based on their official ICC One-Day International rankings. The tournament was renamed for the 2002 event to reflect the new competition format.

1998 (Dhaka): South Africa beat the West Indies by four wickets in the final, thanks largely to Jacques Kallis' 5-30 and Hansie Cronje's unbeaten 61 in a successful run chase. Windies opener Philo Wallace hit 103 in vain as the Windies posted a testing target of 245.

2000 (Nairobi): New Zealand all-rounder Chris Cairns helped his team get the better of India by four wickets in the final, confirming the Kiwis' emergence as a major force in one-day cricket with their first 'world' success.

After a hectic opening stand of 141 between Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar, India posted 264 for six. But Cairns, who came in at the midway point of the reply with 135 for five on the board, finished unbeaten on 102 as the Black Caps finished the job in the last over.

2002 (Colombo): Referred to as the ICC Champions Trophy for the first time, the final between Sri Lanka and India ended in stalemate — forcing the two teams to share the Trophy after early-season Colombo monsoons washed out play on successive days.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, February 02, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals