India?s first GurukulJyoti award
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India?s first GurukulJyoti award

In a move to recognise the outstanding educational and coaching institutes, GurukulJyoti Award was announced by actress Sharmila Tagore on Wednesday.

india Updated: Nov 02, 2006 13:01 IST

In a move to recognise the outstanding educational and coaching institutes and their contributions to Indian education, GurukulJyoti Award ( was announced, on Wednesday November 1, 2006.

Sharmila Tagore, Film Actress and Chairperson, Censor Board of Film Certification (CBFC) unveiled the trophy of this National Award. Registrations for the award at a national level followed.

  Sharmila Tagore during the function

Speaking on the occasion, Sharmila Tagore said, “


award 06

will definitely be a powerful medium to not only encourage educational institutions in India but also bring the institutions functioning at regional and rural levels, in the national limelight”.

Around 6,000 Institutions comprising management, medical, engineering, arts, commerce, law and science streams will be eligible to contest this award. For the first time coaching institutes have also being included into the competition. The criterion from screening to judging provides an equal opportunity to rural and state level small institutions and allows them the right platform to showcase their expertise.

Mr. Deepak Jetha, Chairman, GurukulJyoti Award said, “The selection procedure for the award has been drawn up in a comprehensive logical pattern with a vision to promote and nurture Excellence in Education through identifying ,encouraging, recognising and honoring at public platform all the institutions engaged in different field of Education.”

"This award would set a reference point for education institutions and allow students to find the best institution as a part of their career move. The industry is looking at it as a welcome gesture and would eagerly wait for the actual ceremony; the first ever of its kind", she added

The selection committee includes some illustrious names like, Justice.V.A Mohta, Former Chief Justice, Orissa High court, New Delhi; Padmashri Prof (Dr.) Suresh H Advani; Chief medical and Pediatric Oncologist, Mumbai; Dr. R C Gupta; Professor and Head, Department of Metallurgical Engineering BHU,Varanasi; Prof.Dr.-Ing Omkar Nath Mohanty; Vice Chancellor, Biju Patnaik University of Technology,Orissa; Dr. Vijay K Varma Director, G2 DMRL, Hyderabad.

First Published: Nov 02, 2006 12:27 IST