Inzamam at the center of yet another storm
When the verdict for the catch he claimed came up on scoreboard, spectators began chanting 'cheat'.india Updated: Sep 09, 2006 10:16 IST
Pakistan cricket captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, who already faces disciplinary charges resulting from a ball-tampering ruling, was at the center of another storm on Friday when he claimed a catch.
Fielding at first slip, Inzamam was convinced he had taken a low catch off England captain Andrew Strauss during the fourth one-day international at Trent Bridge. As Inzamam's teammates ran to congratulate him, Strauss refused to leave the crease, equally convinced that the ball had not carried to the Pakistan captain. Umpires Daryl Harper and Mark Benson conferred and then asked the TV umpire, Ian Gould, for a ruling which was that the ball had hit the ground before going into Inzamam's hands.
When the verdict came up on the TV scoreboard, England fans began chanting "cheat, cheat," clearly aimed at the Pakistan captain. Minutes later, Inzamam was involved in a serious discussion with umpire Harper although it was not clear what the conversation was about.
Inzamam is due to appear before an International Cricket Council disciplinary hearing Sept. 27-28 arising out of a ball-tampering ruling at the end of the fourth test at The Oval. Inzamam and his players were furious that Australian umpire Darrell Hair had ruled they had tampered with the ball on the fourth day of the match. They initially refused to return to the field for the final session and, when they eventually came out of the changing room, the umpires had already ruled that they had forfeited the match.
The ICC later charged Inzamam with ball tampering and also bringing the game into disrepute. The Pakistan Cricket Board said the charges would be contested and a two-day hearing has been set aside in London.
First Published: Sep 09, 2006 10:09 IST