MPC, ZNP formalise pre-poll alliance
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MPC, ZNP formalise pre-poll alliance

The Opposition Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) and Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP), a breakaway group of ruling Mizo National Front, formalised a pre-poll alliance.

india Updated: Oct 21, 2003 15:59 IST

The Opposition Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) and Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP), a breakaway group of ruling Mizo National Front on Monday formalised a pre-poll alliance for the ensuing state assembly polls and decided to put up common candidates in 18 constituencies.

While MPC would contest in eight constituencies in undivided Aizawl district and one constituency in Lunglei district, the ZNP would field candidates in nine constituencies in undivided Aizawl district, the two parties said in an agreement signed today by ZNP President Lalduhawma and senior Vice-President of MPC, Zairemthanga.

There are 18 other constituencies declared as 'free zones' where the two parties would have 'friendly contests', the two leaders said in the agreement.

MPC has currently 12 legislators in the 40-member House, while the ZNP does not have a single MLA.

MPC, regarded as third-largest party in the state, partnered with the MNF in a pre-poll alliance in 1998 but snapped ties in December, 1999 following disagreement in village council elections.

Two assembly constituencies, each in southern Saiha and Lawngtlai districts, were declared as 'common zones' but the two parties would support the candidates of local Lai People's Party and Mara Democratic Front in these four constituencies, they said in the agreement.

In the pre-poll alliance agreement the MPC and ZNP decided to formulate a 'Common Minimum Programme' which would be regarded as a joint manifesto.

The leader of the House would be picked by elected legislators after the November 20 poll in case the two allies secured majority, the agreement envisaged.

A post of Deputy Chief Minister would be created for the ally which would not get the chief minister's post, the agreement said. In case only one party managed to get the majority in the 40-member House, the two-party coalition would still be in force, it said.

The constituencies where ZNP contestants would be in fray as 'common candidates' are - Champhai, Khawzawl, Ratu, Kawrthah, Bilkhawthlir, Serchhip, Sateek, Aizawl East II and Aizawl South I.

MPC would put up 'common candidates' in North Vanlaiphai, Kawnpui, Kolasib, Zawlnuam, Tlabung (Lunglei district), Suangpuilawn, Mamit, Aizawl North I and Aizawl East I.

First Published: Oct 21, 2003 15:59 IST