Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind


Although RSS has its headquarters here, BJP's lotus blossomed only once in Nagpur when it won the seat in 1996.

india Updated: Apr 04, 2004 16:22 IST

Although RSS has its headquarters in here, BJP's lotus blossomed only once in Nagpur when the party won the Nagpur Lok Sabha seat in 1996, but Maharashtra's second capital--Nagpur -- has returned Congress 10 times.

Nagpur, in the heart of the Maharashtra's Vidarbha region, has been won once each by Forward Block (1971), BJP (1996) and an independent Bapuji Aney (1962), and by Congress 10 times.

The fate of the seat seems to have been determined on more than one occasion by contender Banwarilal Purohit, who gave it its only BJP victory in 1996, after defecting from Congress. Purohit defeated the then first lady mayor Kunda Vijaykar daughter of then Congress bigwig SK Wankhede.

However, Purohit is essentially a Congressman and won the seat twice consecutively in 1984 and 1989 on a Congress ticket.

Congress opened its account in 1952 with its first woman nominee Anusuyabai Kale and maintained its winning spree till 1996 and despite Purohit's defection to BJP the seat was won by Datta Meghe on a Congress ticket 1991.

Purohit, however, later returned to the Congress fold and served as MLA from east and south Nagpur assembly segments and as minister of state in the Maharashtra government.

Congress candidates Anusuyabai Kale has won twice (1952, 1957), Vilas Muttemwar (1998, 1999), Purohit (1984, 1989) Datta Meghe (1971), Narendra Deoghare (1967), Jambuwantrao Dhote (1980), and Gev Awari (1977).

Dhote won the seat also in 1971 on a Forward Block ticket giving the party its only win here.

First Published: Mar 02, 2004 00:00 IST