Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Newly-elected TN MLAs take oath

Except five MLAs, including former CM Jayalalithaa, the other 228 members of the TN Assembly took oath.

india Updated: May 18, 2006 08:59 IST

Except five MLAs, including former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, the other 228 newly-elected members of the Tamil Nadu Assembly took oath on Wednesday.

Chief Minister M Karunanidhi and his colleagues in the ministry were the first to take oath, followed by leaders of various parties.

Besides Jayalalithaa, the notable absentees were Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam president and actor Vijaykanth (Vridhachalam), V Sivapunniyam (Mannargudi), K Ulaganathan (Thiruthuraipoondi) and Padmavathy (Nannilam).

Sudarsanam announced that Jayalalithaa and Vijaykanth would take the oath at the Speaker's chamber at 11 am and 11.30 am on Thursday respectively.

He announced that nominations for the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker would be received in the afternoon and elections would be held on May 19.

One of the members K Gopinath (Hosur) took the oath in Telugu and English. All other members took oath in Tamil.

First Published: May 17, 2006 16:32 IST