Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pawar-Morgan race begins for top ICC post

Pawar has England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) president David Morgan to contend with.

india Updated: Feb 15, 2007 15:17 IST

Indian Cricket Board president Sharad Pawar has submitted his "insight and vision" to the International Cricket Council (ICC) in his attempt to become the body's next president.

Pawar has England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) president David Morgan to contend with as ICC begins the process to elect the man who will succeed South African Percy Sonn at its Dubai headquarters in mid-2008, the ICC said in Dubai.

Interestingly, AC Muthiah, a former president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), is involved in the first of the three-step process to elect the ICC president according to a new method.

Muthiah, who was BCCI chief from 1999-2000 to 2000-2001, heads a six-man high profile ICC nominations committee, which met in Dubai on Wednesday to consider the two nominations for the top post.

"It was a very productive meeting that took place in a very friendly and cordial atmosphere. Both the candidates gave us their insight and vision on the development of cricket internationally," Muthiah said after the six-hour meeting.

He will now submit his committee's confidential recommendation to an ICC executive board meeting in Cape Town on March 1.

The ICC board will in turn forward a recommendation to the ICC annual conference in London in June where final voting will take place. The 10 Test playing nations, or ICC full members, and associate members will vote.

A candidate voted as ICC president must secure support from two-thirds of the 10 full members at the annual conference.

"This is the first time this method of selecting the ICC president has been employed. It is a fair and transparent process and one that we believe will ensure the most suitable candidate gets the job," Muthiah said.

The new system was put in place in June 2005.

Only one Indian, Jagmohan Dalmiya, has ever been elected ICC president in its 98-year existence. He held the post between 1997-2000.

ICC nominations committee: Muthiah (chairman, and representing India and Sri Lanka), Bob Merriman (Australia and New Zealand), Mueen Afzal (Bangladesh and Pakistan), Stephen Camacho (West Indies and England), John Blair (South Africa and Zimbabwe) and Imran Khwaja (ICC associate and affiliate member countries representative).

First Published: Feb 15, 2007 15:17 IST