Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 21, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sangakkara ensures Lankan triumph

The batsman smashed a brilliant century to script Sri Lanka's win in the third ODI against Bangladesh.

india Updated: Feb 25, 2006 17:56 IST
Associated Press
Associated Press

Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by 78 runs in the third one-dayer to win theseries 2-1 on Saturday.

Chasing the target of 310, Bangladesh could only score 231/9 in 50 overs. Mohammad Ashraful top scored with 64.

Earlier, Kumar Sangakkara smashed a brilliant century to power Sri Lanka to 309 for seven.

Sangakkara hit eleven boundaries for his 109 off 125 balls before being bowled by spinner Mohammad Rafique in the series deciding match.

Sangakkara and captain Mahela Jayawardene (51) steered Sri Lanka out of early trouble when it lost openers Upul Tharanga for a duck and Sanath Jayasuruya for four in the ninth over.

Hard-hitting Kaushal Lokuarachchi smashed 69 off 57 balls, while lower order batsman Farveez Maharoof remained unbeaten on 27 off just nine balls. Maharoof struck three sixes.

Rafique grabbed three wickets, while medium-pacers Mashrafee bin Mortaza and Syed Rasel took two wickets apiece.

Mortaza jolted Sri Lanka in the first over of the innings by dismissing Tharanga for a duck with Sri Lanka yet to score. Jayasuriya (4) soon departed perishing to Mortaza, leaving Sri Lanka at 17 for two wickets.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sangakkara and captain Jayawardene steadied the innings with 75-run third wicket stand.

Jayawardene made 51 off 56 before being caught and bold by Rafique.


Sri Lanka: W Tharanga c Shahriar Nafees b Mashrafe Mortaza 0, S Jayasuriya c Tapash Baisya b Mashrafe Mortaza 4, K Sangakkara b Mohammad Rafique 109, M Jayawardene c&b Mohammad Rafique 51, K Lokuarachchib Mohammad Rafique 69, T Dilshan c Mohammad Ashraful b Syed Rasel 22, C Kapugedera c Habibul Bashar b Syed Rasel 16, M Maharoof not out 27, C Bandara not out 3, Extras: (lb-1, w-6, nb-1) 8, Total: (for 7 wkts, 50 overs)309.

Fall of wkts: 1-0, 2-17, 3-92, 4-196, 5-258, 6-263, 7-282.

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 10-2-71-2, Syed Rasel 10-1-46-2, Tapash Baisya 5-0-43-0, Mohammad Rafique 10-0-61-3, Alok Kapali 10-1-50-0, Manjural Islam Rana 2-0-15-0, Aftab Ahmed 3-0-22-0.

Bangladesh innings: J Omar c Sangakkara b Perera 21, S Nafees c Dilshan b Prasad 13, A Ahmed c Jayawardene b Prasad 0, Md Ashraful c Bandara b Dilshan 64, H Bashar c Jayawardene b Jayasuriya 30, A Kapali lbw Dilshan 5, M Rafique c Tharanga b Lojkuarachichi 22, M Islam Rana lbw Lokuarachichi 23,K Mashud not out 19,M Mortaza c sub (Mubarak) b Bandara 19, S Rasel not out 2, Extras: 10, Total: (for nine wkts in 50 overs) 231.

Fall of wkts: 1-29, 2-29, 3-44, 4-130, 5-144, 6-146, 7-185, 8-195, 9-219.

Bowling: Ruchira Perera 7-1-23-1, Farveez Maharoof 7-0-23-0, Dhammika Prasad 6-1-29-2, Sanath Jayasuriya 7-0-31-1, Malinga Bandara 10-0-52-1, Kaushal Lokuarachchi 8-0-52-2, Tillakaratne Dilshan 5-1-14-2.

Umpires: AFM Akhtaruddin (Bangladesh) and K Hariharan (India).

TV Umpire: Nadir Shah (Bangladesh).

Match Referee: Clive Lloyd (West Indies).

Result: Sri Lanka won by 78 runs.

Series: Sri Lanka wins three-match series 2-1.

First Published: Feb 25, 2006 11:34 IST