Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Separate statehood for Telangana: A struggle of decades

With the Lok Sabha passing the Telangana bill on Tuesday, the path is clear for the formation of the 29th state in India. We take a look at major events in the history of Telangana since 1956.

india Updated: Jun 02, 2014 11:45 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Telangana bill passed,uproar over telangana,celebrations over telangana

With the Lok Sabha passing the Telangana bill on Tuesday, the path is clear for the formation of the 29th state in India. Here is a look at major events in the history of Telangana since 1956:

1956: Telangana merged with Andhra to give birth to Andhra Pradesh as it stands today

1969: First Telangana movement, spearheaded by Telangana Praja Samithi (TPS), begins

1971: TPS wins 10 of region's 14 Lok Sabha seats

1972: 'Jai Andhra' movement began in coastal Andhra for separate Andhra State.

1975: Presidential order issued to implement six-point formula, providing some safeguards to Telangana.

1997: BJP supported demand for Telangana state; in 1998 election, it promised 'one vote two states'.

2001: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), led by K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR), formed to create Telangana state with Hyderabad as capital

2004: TRS, in alliance with Congress, comes to power in the state and forms a coalition government at Centre

2006: TRS withdraws from UPA because of latter's 'failure' to create Telangana state.

2008: TDP announced support for Telangana demand.

Nov, 2009: KCR starts fast-unto-death, demanding that Congress introduce Telangana bill in Parliament

Dec, 2009: Government announces start of process for formation of separate state.

Feb, 2010: Five-member panel headed by justice BN Srikrishna formed to study feasibility of Telangana state

Jan, 2011: Panel submits report with six possibilities, including separation of Telangana and continuation of united Andhra Pradesh.

Jun, 2013: Congress holds rally in support of Telangana in Hyderabad.

July, 2013: UPA coordination panel and Congress Working Committee decide to carve out Telangana state

Students of Osmania University celebrate with a cake after Congress working committe and UPA endorsed the creation of a new state 'Telangana' in Hyderabad on July 30, 2013. (AP Photo)

Dec, 2013: The Centre sends the controversial bill to the Andhra Pradesh assembly. As suggested by the President, the assembly is asked to consider the bill and respond by January 23, 2014.

Jan 23, 2014: Around 80 legislators from the Seemandhra region of Andhra Pradesh, including ministers, write to the President asking him to grant three more weeks to the Andhra Pradesh legislature to complete the discussions.

Jan 30, 2014: Andhra Pradesh assembly rejects the bill.

Feb 5, 2014: Chief minister stages sit-in in Delhi to oppose bifurcation.

Feb 7, 2014: Union cabinet clears the bill and rejects Seemandhra leaders' demand to make Hyderabad a Union territory. Bill sent to the President for his approval to table it in Parliament.

Feb 11, 2014: Congress expels six MPs from Seemandhra for moving no-confidence motion against government.

Feb 13, 2014: Bill introduced in Lok Sabha amid clashes between MPs from Seemandhra and Telangana. Lagadapati Rajagopal, an MP from Seemandhra, uses pepper spray in the House. Speaker suspends 16 MPs including Rajagopal for rest of the session.

Feb 18, 2014: Lok Sabha passes Telangana bill amid pandemonium.

Feb 19, 2014: Kiran Reddy resigns as the chief minister to protest bifurcation

Feb 20, 2014: Rajya Sabha passes bill. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announces package for Seemandhra.

March 1, 2014: President Pranab Mukherjee gives his assent to Telangana bill. President's rule imposed in the state.

April 30, 2014: Simultaneous elections held to 119-member Telangana assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats.

May 16, 2014: TRS stormed to power by winning 63 seats in the assembly and also bagged 11 Lok Sabha seats.

June 2, 2014: Telangana is born as the new state. Chandrasekhara Rao takes oath as the first chief minister.

TRS supporters dance as they celebrate the passage of Telangana bill in the Lok Sabha, in Hyderabad. (PTI Photo)

First Published: Feb 18, 2014 21:46 IST