HT Image
HT Image

Sydney Cricket Ground

Sydney Cricket Ground
PTI | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON JAN 13, 2005 08:46 PM IST

Capacity: 40000

End Names: Paddington End, Randwick End

Home Team: New South Wales

The Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) is located in Moore Park in Sydney. It is a large stadium that can hold about 40,000 people.

There are eight grandstands for public seating. Four are named after cricketers, Don Bradman, M.A Noble, Bill O'Reilly and Doug Walters.

The SCG is the home ground for the New South Wales Blues.

The ground also houses a museum containing sporting (mostly cricket) memorabilia in addition to running 12 minute 'spectravision' show with 'ghosts' of past and present cricket identities.


* In 1854 the first cricket match was played at the ground.

* In 1868 Moore Park was opened as a public recreation reserve beside the ground. It was named after the Mayor Of Sydney, Charles Moore, who planted a number of Moreton Bay Fig trees in the park.

* In 1878 the original Members Pavilion was erected.

* In 1894 the ground was officially called the Sydney Cricket Ground.

* In 1938 the Empire Games, now the Commonwealth Games, were held at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

* In 1983 the first electronic video scoreboard began operating.

* In 1988 the Bicentennial Test was played here between Australia and England.

Story Saved