Voting begins under security

Published on Apr 26, 2004 11:12 AM IST

Polling for the second & final phase of Assembly elections in Andhra began on Monday morning under tight security arrangements.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Hyderabad

Polling for the second phase of simultaneous elections to the Lok Sabha and Assembly in Andhra Pradesh began this morning under tight security arrangements.

Over 2.36 crore voters are expected to exercise their franchise in this phase of polling which began at 7 am, covering politically volatile south coastal belt and faction-ridden Rayalaseema regions.

There are 147 candidates in the fray for 21 Lok Sabha seats while 1,037 aspirants are testing their fortunes in 147 assembly segments.

The ruling TDP president and Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and Congress Legislature Party leader Y S Rajasekhar Reddy, are among the prominent figures whose electoral fate will be sealed today.

Over 80,000 police force, including state armed forces and central para-military forces have been deployed for peaceful, free and fair elections.

The Union Minister and actor-turned politician U V Krishnam Raju (Narsapur on BJP ticket), NTR's daughter Purandareswari (Bapatla-Congress), veteran film producer C Aswini Dutt (Vijayawada-TDP) and M V Mysoora Reddy (Cuddapah) are among the key contenders for Lok Sabha polls in the second phase.

Balloting will be held in Kakinada, Amalapuram, Eluru, Vijayawada, Guntur, Narasaraopeta, Nellore, Chittor, Cuddapah, Anantpur, Nandyal, Rajahmundry, Narasapur, Machilipatnam, Tenali, Bapatla, Ongole, Tirupati, Rajampeta, Hindupur and Kurnool Lok Sabha constituencies.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, December 05, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals