HT Image
HT Image


One of the two seats in the state, it has for long been a Congress bastion.
PTI | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON APR 03, 2004 01:44 PM IST

The Congress had routed other political parties in the region including the regional Arunachal Pradesh Congress led by former chief minister Gegong Apang, who had ruled the state for about two decades. But in 1999 the party suffered a major reversal losing both parliamentary seats as well as elections to the state legislature in the last Assembly elections. Congress thus regained the state and managed to defeat Apang's son who was a junior minister in the BJP-led federal government.

As for the BJP, it was unable to open its account in the region. However the newly floated Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) got two seats and independents got one in the last elections. In 1994 Assembly elections, Congress had got 44 seats whereas Janta dal had got 3 and Janta party had got 2 and the remaining seats had gone to the independents. But later on most of the Congress leaders had joined Mr. Apang led Arunachal Congress Party in 1996.

In 1999  general elections Wangcha Rajkumar of INC defeated BJP's Tapir Gao by a margin of 41443 votes.

So it is to be seen if the Congress will be able to retain its hold in the constituency or will it be change of political leadership in the state.

Story Saved