New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 23, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Sep 23, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Betul, Madhya Pradesh

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Betul, Madhya Pradesh. Since 1996, the Betul Lok Sabha constituency has consistently voted for the BJP.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 29, 2019 12:43 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
EVM and VVPAT machines stored in a strong room.
EVM and VVPAT machines stored in a strong room.(Diwakar Prasad/ Hindustan Times)

Betul is one of the 29 Lok Sabha Constituencies of Madhya Pradesh. The Betul Lok Sabha seat is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes.

The seat did not exist in the 1957 and 1962 Lok Sabha elections.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Jyoti Dhurve had defeated Congress’s Ajay Shah Makrai by a margin of more than 3 lakh votes. Since 1996, the Betul Lok Sabha constituency has voted in the BJP candidates.

For the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has dropped its sitting MP Jyoti Dhurve and has fielded Durgadas Uikey instead. The Congress is fielding Ramu Tekam from Betul this time.

Read: All you need to know about Madhya Pradesh

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Betul Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Betul (ST)

Date of polling: May 6

2019 candidates: Durgadas Uike (BJP), Ramu Tekam (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Jyoti Dhurve, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 328,614

Runner up name, party: Ajay Shah “Makrai”, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,047,827

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77

Number of polling booths in 2014: 2,081

Number of women voters: 473,569

First Published: Mar 26, 2019 14:28 IST