Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP, Cong to face tough fight in Tikamgarh, Madhya Pradesh

With their candidates being branded ”outsiders” by the locals, both the BJP and the Congress are likely to face a difficult situation in the Tikamgarh Lok Sabha constituency in Madhya Pradesh.
Election officers check polling materials ahead of polling.(Mujeeb Faruqui/HT Photo)
Election officers check polling materials ahead of polling.(Mujeeb Faruqui/HT Photo)
Updated on Apr 29, 2019 03:15 PM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent

Tikamgarh is one of the 29 Lok Sabha constituencies of Madhya Pradesh.

The Tikamgarh Parliamentary constituency came into existence after the delimitation exercise of 2008. Since its formation, the seat has been won by the BJP both in 2009 and in 2014 with its candidate Dr Virendra Kumar leading the charge.

This time around as well, the BJP has fielded sitting MP Virendra Kumar who will go up against the Congress’s Kiran Ahirwar.

Read: All you need to know about Madhya Pradesh

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Virendra Kumar had defeated his closest competitor Dr Kamlesh Verma Ahirwar by 208,731 votes.

However, the going isn’t going to be easy for either the BJP or the Congress candidate as both have been branded as “outsiders” by the locals. Chances of a victory for the BJP’s sitting MP Virendra Kumar Khatik appear slim as he has been branded as “inert and inactive” by the party’s own workers who have opposed his candidature.

Read: All that you need to know about the Lok Sabha elections

The Congress’s Kiran Ahirwar has also been branded as an “outsider”, a charge that she has denied. Tikamgarh is a reserved seat and has predominantly Ahirwar voters, one reason why the Congress has fielded Kiran Ahirwar. However, with the Ahirwars numbering nearly 3.5 lakh and the Yadavs making up nearly 3 lakh of the voters in the constituency, the caste combination appears favourable for the Congress.

Here’s all you need to know about Tikamgarh Lok Sabha constituency

State: Madhya Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Tikamgarh

Date of polling: May 6

Contesting candidates: Dr Virendra Kumar (BJP), Kiran Ahirwar (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Dr. Virendra Kumar, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 208,731

Runner up name, party: Dr Kamlesh Verma Ahirwar, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 766,878

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 78

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,612

Number of women voters: 299,632

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, May 28, 2022