Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Palakkad, Kerala

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Apr 20, 2019 05:58 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Palakkad, Kerala.

Palakkad is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

An Election Commission official seals an EVM after an election.(Kalpak Pathak/HT Photo)
An Election Commission official seals an EVM after an election.(Kalpak Pathak/HT Photo)

CPI(M)’s MB Rajesh is the sitting MP. Rajesh won the Lok Sabha elections from the Palakkad constituency in 2009 and 2014 and is hoping for a hattrick this time around.

Stay tuned with breaking news on HT Channel on Facebook. Join Now

Interestingly, in 2009, MB Rajesh had won by a very slim margin of barely 1,820 votes over his closest competitor Congress’s Satheesan Pacheni. In 2014, the UDF, looking to defeat Rajesh brought in an outsider in Socialist Janata (Democratic)’s MP Veerendra Kumar. This worked in MB Rajesh’s favour who expanded his victory margin by more than a lakh to 1,05,00 votes.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

With speculation rife that the Left Front may not perform as well as in the previous election, the Left Democratic Front may well be looking at the Palakkad Lok Sabha constituency and MB Rajesh for a victory.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Palakkad Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Palakkad

Contesting candidates: MB Rajesh CPI(M), VK Sreekantan, Congress, C Krishnakumar (BJP)

Date of Polling: April 23

Sitting MP, Party: MB Rajesh, CPI(M)

Winning margin in 2014: 105,300

Runner up name, party: MP Veerendrakumar, SJ(D)

Number of voters in 2014: 910,476

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 53

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,027

Number of women voters: 4,65,812

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, December 09, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now