Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 17, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Council polls apart: Sena wins 2 seats without BJP’s support

BJP had supported opposition, but Sena got ‘support from NCP’ in Nashik

mumbai Updated: May 25, 2018 00:28 IST
Surendra P Gangan
Surendra P Gangan
Hindustan Times
mumbai news,council polls,shiv sena
NCP’s Aniket Tatkare (third from left) with his father and party leader Sunil Tatkare after winning the Konkan seat. (HT Photo)

The Shiv Sena won two of the five legislative council seats, the results for which were announced on Thursday, despite lack of support from ally Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Six constituencies – Raigad-Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Nashik, Parbhani-Hingoli, Amravati, Wardha-Chandrapur-Gadchiroli and Osmanabad-Beed-Latur – went to polls on May 21. The counting of votes for Osmanabad-Beed-Latur has been deferred, as 12 disqualified corporators from the constituency moved court.

The Sena won Nashik and Parbhani-Hingoli constituencies. In a surprise move, senior Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Chhagan Bhujbal is reported to have helped Sena candidate Narendra Darade win from Nashik. The BJP won two Vidarbha seats, while the NCP bagged the Konkan constituency. The Congress, meanwhile, did not win any seat. The Sena’s tally in the 78-member House is now 11.

The Sena’s victory is a major boost to the party, as it did not hold any of the six seats that went to polls and the BJP supported opposition candidates. The relation between the allies has been strained over the May 28 Palghar bypolls, where the Sena has fielded a candidate – Shrinivas Wanga, son of the BJP’s late MP Chintaman Wanga – for the seat held by its ally, weakening the prospects of BJP’s Rajendra Gavit. “We proved our mettle despite the effort by some parties to crush us. The BJP supported NCP candidate in Raigad-Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg constituency resulting in the defeat of our candidate,” said Sena spokesperson Neelam Gorhe.

Refuting claims of helping the Sena in Nashik, NCP state president Jayant Patil said, “I don’t think Bhujbal helped the Sena candidate in Nashik. The BJP and Sena were together there.”

In Nashik, BJP corporators reportedly voted for NCP’s Shivaji Sahane, while in Konkan (Raigad-Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg) constituency, they stood by NCP’s Aniket Tatkare.

The Sena lost the Konkan seat by a large margin, but managed to wrest the Parbhani-Hingoli seat from the Congress.

Calling the BJP’s support to NCP “unholy”, Gorhe asked if the BJP government will now push for a probe against Sunil Tatkare over irrigation scam allegations.

Pravin Pote-Patil, BJP leader and minister of state for public works, won from Amravati, while his colleague Ramdas Ambatkar defeated the Congress’ Indrakumar Saraf from Wardha-Chandrapur-Gadchiroli.

The Congress could not garner votes equivalent to the strength of their corporators in Amravati and Parbhani-Hingoli. In Amravati, the alliance had 168 votes, but it polled 17; in Parbhani-Hingoli, the Congress won 221 votes against their strength of 297. “It’s an unexpected defeat for us,” said a state Congress leader.

In Osmanabad-Beed-Latur, the battle is between candidates fielded by the Munde cousins, women and child welfare minister Pankaja Munde and leader of Opposition Dhanajay Munde.

First Published: May 25, 2018 00:28 IST