Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 22, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Here’s how the parties shared Mumbai’s vote

While the Sena, which had the highest tally of 84 seats, got the largest share of total votes, BJP is the biggest gainer in terms of votes as well as strike rate

mumbai Updated: Feb 25, 2017 11:49 IST
Manasi Phadke and Chetna Yerunkar
Manasi Phadke and Chetna Yerunkar
Hindustan Times
Mumbai,BMC,BMC Election
Shiv sena chief Uddhav Thackeray meets party workers at his residence on Friday.(Vijayanand Gupta/HT PHOTO)

Contesting on more seats after their split before the BMC polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena witnessed a significant surge in the number of votes they won. While the Sena, which had the highest tally of 84 seats, got the largest share of total votes, BJP is the biggest gainer in terms of votes as well as strike rate. The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) was the worst affected and the Congress’ share, too, shrunk along with that of the smaller parties and independents.

According to preliminary figures released by the BMC’s election department, the Shiv Sena, which contested all 227 seats and won 84, got 28.32% votes as against 21.86% in 2012, when the party contested 135 seats and won 75. With strong backing from the island city, where it won multiple seats in the Marathi heartland of Dadar, Mahim, Parel and Lalbaug, and a few Marathi-dominated wards in the eastern and western suburbs, Sena managed to get 14,43,969 votes of the 50.97 lakh votes cast.

On the other hand, the BJP, which contested 195 seats, more than three times the 63 seats it contested in 2012, witnessed a massive hike in the vote share. With 13,92,676 votes – largely from the Gujarati and North Indian-dominated areas and some from the Sena’s strongholds of Goregaon and Andheri East – the BJP ended up with a vote share of 27.32%. It was impressive hike as against the 8.54% in 2012, when the BJP contested 63 seats and won 31.

The Congress and MNS’ vote share plummeted, quite in line with the results. The parties, which had 51 seats and 28 seats in 2012, shrunk to 31 seats and 7 seats, respectively. While the Congress’ drop in the number of votes and vote share was tepid, it was the Raj Thackeray-led MNS that lost maximum ground.

The MNS could poll just 3,94,653 votes, which is 7.74% of the total votes cast, as compared to three times the number of votes last time. In 2012, the party which grabbed eyeballs by dislodging the Sena from its home turf of Dadar and Mahim, had 9,51,380 votes, which was 20.67% of the total votes cast, almost equal to the Sena’s vote share of 21.85%. The Congress’ votes, meanwhile, dipped to 8,13,177 from 9,77,512 with the percentage of votes polled sliding to 15.95% from 21.23 % in 2012.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), which was wiped out of Mumbai in the 2014 Assembly elections, also lost a handful of votes as compared to 2012. The party’s vote share shrunk to 4.85% (2,47,548 votes) from 6.56% in 2012. The independent candidates managed to get 3,07,465 votes, which are about 6.03% of the total votes.

First Published: Feb 25, 2017 01:04 IST

more from mumbai