New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 25, 2020-Sunday



Select Country
Select city
Home / Pune News / Why Pune hotbed for next-gen tennis stars

Why Pune hotbed for next-gen tennis stars

Pune players clinch Asian Tennis Federation under-14 titles. Rutuja Chaphalkar had two titles to her name while Arun Gohad won the boys’ singles title. The winner of the tournament received 200 ATF points.

pune Updated: Jun 10, 2017, 13:55 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Pune
Winners of the Arun Wakankar Memorial- ATF Asian under-14 series tennis tournament held in Pune.
Winners of the Arun Wakankar Memorial- ATF Asian under-14 series tennis tournament held in Pune.(HT PHOTO)

 As expected Pune players dominated the Arun Wakankar Memorial - ATF Asian under-14 series tennis tournament. City’s Rutuja Chaphalkar won two titles while in the boys’ category, Arjun Gohad, clinched the title on Friday. 

The tournament was organised by the Pune Metropolitan District Tennis Association (PMDTA) at the MSLTA School of Tennis, Balewadi. 

Wildcard entrant Rutuja clinched the singles’ trophy with an easy 6-1, 6-2 win over Priyanshi Bhandari in the final. Priyanshi proved no match for Rutuja, who had won the HCL Masters and has been selected to train at the Rafael Nadal Academy in Spain. 

The players faced each other in another final. This time, Rutuja was paired with Vaishnavi Adkar, while Priyanshi and Pune girl Hrudaya Shah had reached the final in the doubles’ category. Rutuja and Vaishnavi lost the first set 2-6, but levelled the scores in the second with a 6-4 win. Continuing the streak, they won the decider 10-2 and eventually the match. 

Meanwhile, another wildcard entrant city player Arjun Gohad justified his selection by beating third-seeded Shashidhar Kota 6-0, 6-1.

Shashidhar, who was in line for a double crown, missed both opportunities, as he along with Vishesh Patel went down to Pune boy Sanmay Gandhi and Ahmedabad player Dhanya Shah in the doubles’ final. The second seed pair of Shashidhar-Dhanya lost the first set 3-6. In the second set, they put their best efforts but lost the tie-breaker with a score of 6-7 (4).  The winner received 200 ATF points along with the trophy. 

Results (final)

Boys - Arjun Gohad (Ind) bt Shashidhar Kota (Ind) 6-0, 6-1 

Doubles - Sanmay Gandhi /Dhanya Shah bt Shashidhar Kota/ Vishesh Patel 6-3, 7-6(4) 

Girls - Rutuja Chaphalkar (Ind) bt Priyanshi Bhandari (Ind) 6-1, 6-2

Doubles - Vaishnavi Adkar / Rutuja Chaphalkar bt Priyanshi Bhandari/ Hrudaya Shah 2-6, 6-4, 10-2

ht epaper

Sign In to continue reading