Today in New Delhi, India
May 22, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

‘Real alternative’: Chhotepur names office-bearers of his APP

Claims Akali dissenters looking forward to joining APP

punjab Updated: Oct 06, 2016 22:56 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Chhotepur,Aam Aadmi Party,Aapna Punjab Party
Chhotepur with his team at a press conference in Chandigarh on Thursday.(HT Photo)

Aapna Punjab Party (APP) convener Sucha Singh Chhotepur has said that some of the Akalis, who are disillusioned in the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), were keen on joining his Aapna Punjab Party (APP).

“You just wait and see once the parties distribute the tickets, many from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and SAD will come to us,” Chhotepur said at a press conference here on Thursday, as he announced the district chiefs of the APP.

He said APP and not AAP will emerge as an alternative to the Badal regime. “Talks with the Left parties and AAP’s rebel MP Dr Dharamvira Gandhi were on for a ‘mahagathbandhan’ in the form of Progressive Punjab Alliance,” he said.

Also read | AAP Punjab legal cell secretary resigns, backs Chhotepur

Reiterating that AAP was “a party of dictators from Delhi”, Chhotepur said there was no question of his removal as convener of AAP’s Punjab unit since he never got a letter with regard to his elevation to the post. “Sab kuchh hawa vich hi karde ne. Kelriwal never confirmed that party has accepted my resignation,” he said.

The APP also announced district chiefs on the occasion. The chief of Moga district will be announced later. Five spokespersons — Hardeep Singh Kingra, RR Bhardwaj, Col Jasjit Singh Gill, Gurinder Singh Bajwa, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu and Narender Walia — were also announced on the occasion. All of them had broken away from the AAP. The party’s other office-bearers included women’s wing in-charge Parminder Kaur, legal wing head Bikramjit Singh Baath, intellectual wing in-charge Amandeep Singh Boparai and media wing in-charge Col Jasjit Singh Gill.

The APP’s manifesto committee will be led by RR Bhardwaj, and other members will be Prof Sarbjit Singh, Som Dutt Bhagat, Col DS Grewal and Narinder Pal Bhagta.

The district chiefs announced at the press conference included Sanjay Salaria (Pathankot), Amandeep Singh Gill (Gurdaspur), Gurinder Singh Bajwa (Amritsar), Daljit Singh (Tarn Taran), Gurvinder Singh Sahi (Kapurthala), Dr BS Anand (Jalandhar-urban), Dr JS Chandi (Jalandhar-rural), Krishanjit Singh (Hoshiarpur), Parvesh Khosla (SBS Nagar/Nawanshahr) , Dr RS Parmar (Rupnagar), Amarjit Singh Walia (SAS Nagar/Mohali), Tirlochan Singh Gill (Fatehgarh Sahib), Bhagwan Dass Garg (Ludhiana-urban), Sukhdev Singh (Ludhiana-rural, Jagraon belt), Rajinder Singh Walia (Ludhiana-rural, Khanna region), Sukhdev Singh (Ferozepur), Prem Kularia (Fazilka), Gurmeet Singh Brar (Muktsar), Jagjit Singh Gill (Faridkot), Ashok Kumar Singla (Bathinda-urban), Jasbir Singh Akalia (Bathinda-rural), Harbinder Singh Mann (Mansa), Balwant Singh Joga (Sangrur) and Amrinder Singh Tur (Patiala). The Moga district chief was yet to be decided.

Modi, Badal creating false war phobia

Chhotepur said Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal were creating a war phobia to meet their vested political interests. He said it was a ploy to deviate the people’s attention from the key issues ahead of the elections.

“There is no war-like situation along the border and evacuation of villagers is not required. This has been done as Badal has left with no other issue,” he said.

First Published: Oct 06, 2016 22:48 IST