Priyanka Chopra sure needs to learn a trick or two on how to cry better.(ABC)
Priyanka Chopra sure needs to learn a trick or two on how to cry better.(ABC)

Quantico E04 review: Finally a good episode that takes us ahead

The creators of the show seem to be learning from the mistakes they made in the first few episodes and giving us less and less reasons to complain (but hey, our list still isn’t blank).
By Soumya Srivastava | Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UPDATED ON OCT 25, 2015 11:19 AM IST

For all the good press and eyeballs she is getting from ABC’s Quantico, Priyanka Chopra sure needs to learn a trick or two on how to cry better. She looks miserable, not because she’s heartbroken, but because all that she could do in the name of crying is to squint her eyes and shriek loudly. Yes, she looks like 6-year-old beat who’s not allowed his favourite toy. Made me want to shove my face in the pillow out of third party embarrassment.

Still, to be fair to the show, if you thought the fourth episode would be another hour of mediocre television, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

The creators of the show seem to be learning from the mistakes they made in the first few episodes and giving us less and less reasons to complain (but hey, our list still isn’t blank). Yes, in this episode of the investigative-drama series, we see better action and a lot more subtlety in execution.

Before we get into the details, here’s what we saw this week:

Last week, we saw Alex, still on the run, taking help from Simon Asher to get to the real terrorist. The FBI got its hands on Alex’s mother and she is more or less convinced that her daughter is a terrorist (definitely not taking home the ‘mom of the year’ award). Back at the academy, Alex found out that her father (whom she killed in self-defence) was actually a hero.

Yo Simon so confused, he calls the FBI on Alex and then saves her from them too. TWICE.
Yo Simon so confused, he calls the FBI on Alex and then saves her from them too. TWICE.

The revelation has left Alex shattered as she now feels guilty of killing a good man. The constant pressure is interfering with her work, which is the perfect opportunity for Liam to get her thrown from Quantico. He assigns Ryan the task to break Alex’s morale and make her quit the academy. Of course, Ryan by now has a soft corner for Alex (could also be a full-fledged, high-schoolish crush but we do not really know) and it is not so inclined towards the job assigned to him.

Nimah (or was it Mina? I don’t think I am going to get their names right by the end of this season at least) is finding it hard to work without her sister. Also, our faux-gay agent Simon also has a thing for Nimah which is super awkward because the blonde creepmaster analyst just won’t leave him alone and is watching everything he does, even the people he stares at.

This blondie has no chill.
This blondie has no chill.

The trainees are assigned a task on dealing with hostage situations where we get to see some action sequences which are relatively better than the previous episodes. Everything is going well, the action, the suspense and finally even the background soundtrack but of course, something always has to go wrong. PeeCee’s miserable attempts at crying!!

One good find from this episode was Shelby Wyatt. First things first. She looks badass with that bob and pant suit. About nine months later, in present time, Shelby is not longer the same old adorable blondie looking for love acceptance. We get to know that something big has happened with her too since their trainee days, things we do not know about yet. Also, she seems to be a big link now in finding who the real guy behind the blast is.

Short hair Shelby- gurl’s got power.
Short hair Shelby- gurl’s got power.

So far, my money is on Simon but if there is one thing we have learnt from our Doyles and Christies is that the obvious choice is never the murderer. We hope Quantico doesn’t pull a ‘Murder of Roger Ackroyd’ with us where the (SPOILER!) narrator himself was the murderer all along.

Do you think Alex is indeed the one who planted the bomb? Let us know in the comments below.

Watch episode 5 trailer:

Read our first three reviews:

Quantico E01 review: Priyanka Chopra is much more than just a pretty face

Quantico E02 review: A steep fall from the great pilot

Quantico E03 review: Regaining focus but without any subtlety

The author tweets @soumya1405

SHARE THIS ARTICLE ON
app
Close
Sunil Grover as Dr Mashoor Gulati (L) and Gutthi
Sunil Grover as Dr Mashoor Gulati (L) and Gutthi

Sunil jokes Dr Mashoor Gulati was more difficult to play than Gutthi. Here's why

PUBLISHED ON JAN 19, 2021 11:05 AM IST
Sunil Grover joked that he found it more difficult to play Dr Mashoor Gulati than Gutthi in The Kapil Sharma Show, as he got accustomed to wearing women's clothes.
Close
Rahul Vaidya and Rubina Dilaik have an ugly fight.
Rahul Vaidya and Rubina Dilaik have an ugly fight.

Bigg Boss 14: Rahul Vaidya drags Abhinav in fight with Rubina, here's her reply

PUBLISHED ON JAN 19, 2021 08:40 AM IST
The promo for Tuesday's episode of Bigg Boss 14 shows Rubina Dilaik and Rahul Vaidya dragging each other's personal lives into an argument. While Abhinav Shukla comes to Rubina's rescue, Aly Goni comes out in support of Rahul.
Close
Bigg Boss 14 promo: Salman Khan scolded Aly Goni for his allegations against Vikas Gupta.
Bigg Boss 14 promo: Salman Khan scolded Aly Goni for his allegations against Vikas Gupta.

Vikas and Jasmin argue on social media over Aly Goni's alleged homophobia

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 06:56 PM IST
  • Vikas Gupta took to Twitter to share 'proof' of Aly Goni's homophobia, which Jasmin Bhasin didn't take quietly.
Close
Mona Singh had two releases in2020- Kehne Ko Humsafar Hain S3 in June and Black Widows in December. (Photo: Prabhas Roy)
Mona Singh had two releases in2020- Kehne Ko Humsafar Hain S3 in June and Black Widows in December. (Photo: Prabhas Roy)

Hope to create something on OTT: Mona Singh on turning writer

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 05:35 PM IST
The actor revealed that she has been writing a script with her husband. She talks about why she felt the need to write at this stage of her career, the importance of word of mouth for OTT shows
Close
Actor Devoleena Bhattacharjee was last seen in the TV show Saath Nibhaana Saathiya 2.
Actor Devoleena Bhattacharjee was last seen in the TV show Saath Nibhaana Saathiya 2.

Devoleena Bhattacharjee: You don’t have to be a part of any groups or camps

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 05:07 PM IST
Actor Devoleena Bhattacharjee says it’s never easy and it shouldn’t be easy to succeed in showbiz or else we won’t value what we get.
Close
Gauahar Khan and Zaid Darbar during their honeymoon in Udaipur.
Gauahar Khan and Zaid Darbar during their honeymoon in Udaipur.

Gauahar Khan, Zaid Darbar enjoy honeymoon in Udaipur, share pics

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 04:16 PM IST
Gauahar Khan and Zaid Darbar have shared pictures and videos from their honeymoon in Udaipur. They shared glimpses of their visit to the Mehrangarh Fort, breakfast at the hotel and auto ride.
Close
Mona Singh said she was disappointed by Shyam Gopalan's marriage proposal.
Mona Singh said she was disappointed by Shyam Gopalan's marriage proposal.

Mona Singh reminisces about husband Shyam Gopalan’s ‘super bad’ wedding proposal

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 02:10 PM IST
Mona Singh said that Shyam Gopalan's proposal was 'super bad'. He nervously blurted out, 'Will you marry me?', and slipped the ring on her finger even before she could answer.
Close
Aari Arjuna wins Bigg Boss Tamil season 4.
Aari Arjuna wins Bigg Boss Tamil season 4.

Aari Arjuna wins Bigg Boss Tamil 4, Kamal grants interesting titles to others

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 08:07 AM IST
Bigg Boss Tamil season 4 host Kamal Haasan announced Aari Arjuna as the winner and handed him the prize money of 50 lakh.
Close
Arshi and Eijaz Khan in Bigg Boss 14.(Colors)
Arshi and Eijaz Khan in Bigg Boss 14.(Colors)

Bigg Boss 14 promo: Arshi cries as Eijaz exits show, Devoleena enters house

PUBLISHED ON JAN 18, 2021 07:21 AM IST
While Eijaz Khan will have to exit the show, Devoleena Bhattacharjee is all set to enter the Bigg Bos 14 house. Watch video.
Close
Jaya Prada was a guest on The Kapil Sharma Show's Sunday episode.
Jaya Prada was a guest on The Kapil Sharma Show's Sunday episode.

Kapil Sharma makes Jaya Prada blush: 'Other MPs must have been like aaye haaye'

UPDATED ON JAN 18, 2021 07:17 AM IST
Kapil Sharma invited veteran actors and politicians Raj Babbar and Jaya Prada on his show The Kapil Sharma Show recently. As always, he tried his best to make his female guest blush with incessant compliments.
Close
Eijaz Khan on Bigg Boss 14.(Colors)
Eijaz Khan on Bigg Boss 14.(Colors)

Bigg Boss 14: Eijaz threatens to quit if he was disrespectful to Rubina

PUBLISHED ON JAN 17, 2021 10:51 PM IST
Bigg Boss 14 Weekend Ka Vaar written update day 103: Eijaz Khan says he’l quit if he was disrespectful to Rubina Dilaik, Salman Khan defends him and scolds Abhinav Shukla instead.
Close
Mohit Malik announced on Instagram about testing positive for Covid.
Mohit Malik announced on Instagram about testing positive for Covid.

Mohit Malik: The vaccine is here and cases are low but Covid is still here

PUBLISHED ON JAN 17, 2021 05:56 PM IST
Mohit talks about his Covid experience and urges people to be vigiliant. He is relieved that his pregnant wife tested negative. “It is all about us taking care as Covid is still contagious.”
Close
Salman Khan has shared a picture with Pista Dhakad. Shehnaaz Gill also paid tributes.
Salman Khan has shared a picture with Pista Dhakad. Shehnaaz Gill also paid tributes.

Salman Khan condoles Pista Dhakad's death, Shehnaaz calls her a 'happy soul'

PUBLISHED ON JAN 17, 2021 04:23 PM IST
Salman Khan has shared his condolences on the death of Bigg Boss' 24-year-old talent manager Pista Dhakad. She died in a road accident on Friday.
Close
Actor Donal Bisht has done TV shows such as Ek Deewaana Tha, Roop - Mard Ka Naya Swaroop and Dil Toh Happy Hai Ji.
Actor Donal Bisht has done TV shows such as Ek Deewaana Tha, Roop - Mard Ka Naya Swaroop and Dil Toh Happy Hai Ji.

Donal Bisht trolled for bikini pics: My choice of clothes is no one’s business

PUBLISHED ON JAN 17, 2021 02:58 PM IST
Actor Donal Bisht says women should be allowed to wear what they want, and whatever they feel comfortable in, without being judged.
Close
Actor Ravi Dubey recently shared this photo showing his drastic physical transformation.
Actor Ravi Dubey recently shared this photo showing his drastic physical transformation.

Ravi Dubey on his chiseled body: In the best shape that I haven’t been in years

PUBLISHED ON JAN 17, 2021 02:45 PM IST
Actor Ravi Dubey shares that there is a certain project that requires him to build up his physique. He also talks about the process he is following to get in shape.
Close
SHARE
Story Saved
OPEN APP