Pinarayi Vijayan sworn-in as Kerala CM for 2nd time, know key Cabinet ministers

PUBLISHED ON MAY 20, 2021 08:30 PM IST
About The Video

  • CPM veteran Pinarayi Vijayan took oath as Kerala CM for the second consecutive term. Governor Arif Mohammad Khan administered the oath in the swearing-in ceremony. A 21-member LDF ministry took oath at the Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. Vijayan's association with the Communist Party of India Marxist goes back a long way. The 76-year-old started as youth leader while he was studying at Govt Brennen College. In 1964, he joined Communist Party & eventually became Kannur district secretary of SFI. Vijayan was arrested in 1975 during the Emergency; in 2002, he was elected to the politburo. Except for the CM face, all other ministers of the new cabinet will be fresh faces. Kerala HC allowed the swearing-in ceremony on the condition of only 500 invitees. The CPM-led Left Democratic Front retained power winning 99 seats against UDF's 41. #PinarayiVijayan #KeralaCM #CommunistPartyofIndiaMarxist


Story Saved