History of military coups in South Asia | world | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

History of military coups in South Asia

History of military coups in South Asia

world Updated: Nov 14, 2009 01:54 IST

Timeline of military rule in Pakistan

1958 : General Ayyub Khan takes over and declares martial law.

1960: General Ayyub Khan becomes president.

1969: General Ayyub Khan resigns and General Yahya Khan takes over.

1977: General Zia ul-Haq stages military coup and becomes president in 1978.

1999: In a military coup, General Pervez Musharraf overthrows Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and becomes the head of state.

Timeline of military rule in Bangladesh

1975: Bangladesh encounters its first military coup on 15 August when troops led by Major Syed Faruqe Rahman and Major Rashid assassinated President Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and his family.

3 November: General Khaled Mosharraf and Bir Uttom overthrow the military government formed by Major Faruque, Major Rashid and Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad.

7 November: General Khaled Mosharraf seize power.

1977 to 1980: General Ziaur Rahman heads the nation.

1981: General Ziaur Rahman is assassinated by a group of army officers along with his six bodyguards and two aides by Major General Abul Manzoor.

1982: Ershad cames to power in a bloodless coup.

Timeline of military rule in Myanmar

Myanmar, which is also known as Burma, has been under military rule since 1962 till now. The first military head of the nation was General Ne Win who ruled for nearly 26 years. Currently, the nation is headed by Chief General Than Shwe.