'The Elite Squad' wins top award at Berlin film fest

Updated on Feb 17, 2008 03:46 AM IST

The jury grand prize, which comes with a runner-up Silver Bear, goes to Oscar-winning US director Errol Morris' "Standard Operating Procedure".

HT Image
HT Image
AP | By, Berlin

Brazilian director Jose Padilha's "Tropa de Elite" ("The Elite Squad,") a movie about police violence, won the top Golden Bear award on Saturday at the annual Berlin film festival.

The jury grand prize, which comes with a runner-up Silver Bear, went to Oscar-winning US director Errol Morris' "Standard Operating Procedure," a documentary on the scandal over prisoner abuse at the US-run Abu Ghraib prison in Iraq.

Paul Thomas Anderson was named best director for strong Oscar contender "There Will Be Blood," starring Daniel Day-Lewis as an obsessed turn-of-the-century oil man, which had been many critics' favourite to win the top honours.

Anderson, who won the Golden Bear in 2000 for "Magnolia," paid tribute to Day-Lewis as "a terrific actor who makes any director a good director."

"There Will Be Blood" also took an award for outstanding artistic achievement, which went to Jonny Greenwood's musical score.

Sally Hawkins won the best actress prize for her part as a London teacher in British director Mike Leigh's "Happy-Go-Lucky." Leigh has said the movie is meant to celebrate the power of positive thinking, and Hawkins described it as "extraordinary, beautiful and very special film."

The best actor award went to Reza Naji for playing a long-suffering father in Iranian director Majid Majidi's "The Song of Sparrows." Naji plays Karim, who loses his job on an ostrich farm and then falls into working as a motorcycle taxi driver in Tehran as he struggles to make ends meet.

Chinese director Wang Xiaoshuai was credited with the best script for "In Love We Trust," while the prize for an innovative film went to "Lake Tahoe," directed by Fernando Eimbcke of Mexico.

Close Story

Less time to read?

Try Quickreads

  • The path of flight ET343 over Addis Ababa, as recorded by Flightradar24. When the plane overflew the runway, the autopilot disconnected, triggering an alarm, which finally woke the pilots, who then turned the plane around. (Courtesy: flightradar24)

    Ethiopian Airlines pilots fall asleep on flight, miss landing

    New Delhi: Pilots of an aircraft of Ethiopian Airlines fell asleep mid-air and missed landing at Ethiopia's capital Addis Ababa, commercial aviation news website Aviation Herald reported late on Thursday. The pilots were later suspended pending an investigation, according to news agency Bloomberg. The incident reportedly took place on Monday when the aircraft was flying from Sudan's Khartoum and was supposed to land at Bole Airport in Addis Ababa.

  • Michael Gove in a file photo. (Reuters)

    Ex-UK minister Michael Gove backs Rishi Sunak for next PM

    Former British cabinet minister Michael Gove on Friday endorsed Rishi Sunak for prime minister and announced an end of his frontline political career, he said in an op-ed in The Times. Gove wrote in the op-ed that he thinks Liz Truss' campaign for 10 Downing Street "has been a holiday from reality." Sunak has the right arguments as they come from his experience of being the chancellor during the COVID-19 pandemic, Gove added.

  • FILE - Armed al-Shabab fighters ride on pickup trucks as they prepare to travel into the city, just outside the capital Mogadishu, Somalia, Dec. 8, 2008.. (AP Photo/Farah Abdi Warsameh, File)

    Al-Shabaab attacks hotel in Somalia's Mogadishu, casualties reported

    Al-Shabaab fighters attacked a hotel in the Somali capital Mogadishu in a hail of gunfire and explosions on Friday, with casualties reported, security sources and witnesses said. The assault on the Hayat Hotel triggered a fierce gunfight between security forces and gunmen from the jihadist group who are still holed up inside the building, security official Abdukadir Hassan told AFP.

  • Sweden shopping centre shooting: Two injured, one arrested. (Getty Images)

    Sweden shopping centre shooting: Two injured, one arrested

    Swedish police said on Friday two people were injured in a shooting at the Emporia shopping centre in the southern city of Malmo and one suspect has been arrested. Read: Shooting selection policy set for a tweak again The police are on the scene questioning witnesses and going through material from surveillance cameras. Earlier, police said they had cordoned off the area and asked the public to avoid going to the shopping centre.

  • The vaccine - called Jynneos, Imvanex and Imvamune, depending on geography - was designed to be injected into a layer of fat beneath the skin, known as a subcutaneous injection. (AP Photo/Seth Wenig)

    EU backs changing monkeypox vaccine injection method to boost supply

    The recommendation is based on a study involving about 500 adults, which compared the performance of the vaccine given either intradermally or subcutaneously, as two doses given about a month apart.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, August 20, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now