Today in New Delhi, India
May 26, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Trivendra Singh Rawat sworn in as Uttarakhand chief minister

The former RSS pracharak took the oath of office and secrecy in a ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

assembly elections Updated: Mar 18, 2017 17:09 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Assembly Elections,Election Results,Uttarakhand chief minister
Trivendra Singh Rawat, who won by a margin of over 24,000 votes, became the Uttarakhand chief minister. (Vinay Santosh Kumar/HT Photo)

BJP leader Trivendra Singh Rawat was sworn in as Uttarakhand chief minister on Saturday after a massive victory in the assembly elections last month.

Governor K K Paul administered the oath of office and secrecy to 56-year-old Rawat, and nine ministers at a ceremony at the Parade Grounds in Dehradun. The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah and other national and state party leaders.

Rawat, a former RSS pracharak, is the fifth BJP chief minister in Uttarakhand.

Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Madan Kaushik, Arvind Pandey, Subodh Uniyal, Yashpal Arya and Prakash Pant have been made Cabinet ministers.

Rekha Arya and Dhan Singh Rawat took oath as ministers of state.

The BJP decimated the Congress in the Assembly election, winning 57 of the 70 seats.

Coupled with his administrative and organisational skills and experience, Rawat’s loyalty to the party and RSS ideology catapulted him to the top post in the state.

Rawat was appointed the BJP’s national secretary in 2013. He was later made joint in-charge of the party’s affairs in Uttar Pradesh in 2014. He was BJP in-charge of Jharkhand ahead of the crucial assembly election, a responsibility he discharged well to further strengthen the party leadership’s trust in him.

Rawat defeated the Congress’s Hira Singh Bisht in the Doiwala constituency with a margin of over 24,000 votes. This was his third win from the constituency since 2002.

First Published: Mar 18, 2017 16:59 IST