Shiromani literary award for Kasel, Aulakh and Tasneem

The Punjab government on Tuesday announced the names of winners of Shiromani awards of the language department for 2012, 2013 and 2014.
Row above (L-R): Niranjan S Tasneem, Surinder Shinda, Mohan Bhandari.
Row above (L-R): Niranjan S Tasneem, Surinder Shinda, Mohan Bhandari.
Published on Sep 30, 2015 09:25 AM IST
Copy Link
Hindustan Times | By, Chandigarh

The Punjab government on Tuesday announced the names of winners of Shiromani awards of the language department for 2012, 2013 and 2014.

The names of awardees were finalised in a marathon meeting of an advisory board under the chairmanship of higher education and languages minister Surjit Singh Rakhra.

The Punjabi Sahit Rattan Award has been bestowed on Kirpal Singh Kasel, Ajmer Aulakh and Niranjan Singh Tasneem. They will be awarded Rs 10 lakh each.

The winners of 17 other categories will get Rs five lakh each. The awardees are:

Shiromani Punjabi Sahitak Patarkar: Varinder Singh Walia, Niranjan Singh Sathi and Susheel Dosanjh.

Punjabi patarkar: Amar Singh Bhullar, Harjinder Singh Lal and Bhushan Sood.

Punjabi sahitkar: Mohan Bhandari, Baldev Singh Sadaknama and Avtar Singh Bling.

Hindi sahitkar: Mahesh Patialavi, Mohd. Iqbal and Renu Behal.

Sanskrit sahitkar: Shashidhar Sharma, Bhushan Lal Sharma and Lekh Raj Parwana.

Punjabi kavi: Jaswinder, Gurbhajan Gill and Kulwant Singh Grewal.

Punjabi critic: Dr Surjit Singh Bhatti, Dr Balkar Singh and Dr Tejwant Gill.

Punjabi gyan sahitkar: Balwant Singh Kothaguru, Dr Kirpal Singh and Prof Aschru Singh.

Punjabi sahitkar (NRIs): Kesar Singh Neer, Gurbhaksh Singh Bhandal and Ajit Singh Rahi.

Punjabi sahitkar (outside Punjab): Chandan Negi, Rashpinder Rashim and Khalid Hussain.

Punjabi bal sahitkar: Santosh Sahni, Aatma Singh Chitti and Amrik Singh Talwandi.

Ragi award: Bhai Hari Singh, Prof Kartar Singh and Bhai Jaswant Singh.

Dhadhi/kavishar: Brij Lal Dhaula, Mohinder Singh Sibea and Des Raj Lachkani.

Punjabi television, radio, film: Buta Singh Shad, Satish Kaul and Baldev Gill.

Punjabi natak: Devinder Daman, Gurcharan Channi and Pali Bhupinder.

Punjabi singers: Mohammad Sadique, Gurdas Maan and Surinder Shinda.

Besides, six prominent personalities have been chosen for special awards. Devinder Singh Chitarkar and Raghbir Singh Bains will get Rs 1.5 lakh while Pandit Rao Thairesanwar, Ranjit Rana, Malkit Singh Guara and Bachan Singh Saral will get Rs 1 lakh each.

Close Story

Less time to read?

Try Quickreads

  • Chief minister Eknath Shinde with Santosh Bangar and other MLAs at Vidhan Bhavan on Monday. Anshuman Poyrekar/ HT Photo

    Hours before trust vote, ‘loyal’ Sena MLA walks into Shinde camp

    Shiv Sena legislator Santosh Bangar, who had professed Bangar's loyalty to Uddhav Thackeray and even accompanied him to Raj Bhavan when he tendered his resignation as chief minister, jumped ship hours before the floor test in the assembly on Monday. With the first-term MLA from Kalamnuri in Hingoli voting in favour of the Eknath Shinde- Devendra Fadnavis regime, the strength of Sena in the House has come down from 16 to 15.

  • NDA presidential poll candidate Droupadi Murmu with the Sorens in Ranchi on Monday. (HT Photo)

    Two among 8 missing as SUV falls in Ganga

    Two persons are still missing after an SUV with eight people on board fell into the Ganga river at Patna's Jethuli ghat Sunday evening, police said, adding that six people managed to swim to safety. Police said that after nearly 20 hours, a team of State Disaster Response Force and National Disaster Response Force, managed to pull out the SUV from the river on Monday.

  • Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray leaves after attending a special session of Maharashtra assembly at Vidhan Bhavan in Mumbai on Monday.

    ‘Out of respect…’: Team Shinde's disqualification list skips Aaditya Thackeray

    Bharat Gogawale, chief whip of the Shiv Sena faction led by chief minister Eknath Shinde, said on Monday notices were issues for disqualifying all Sena legislators who defied the whip during the trust vote. He, however, added that the name of Aaditya Thackeray, former minister and son of Uddhav Thackeray, was not added in the list out of respect for Sena founder Balasaheb Thackeray.

  • 2 Kalwa residents arrested by Kalyan GRP for making hoax call stating that a person was carrying bomb at Ambernath railway station. (HT FILE PHOTO)

    2 arrested by Kalyan GRP for making hoax call about person carrying bomb

    Kalyan Government Railway Police, on Monday, arrested two men for making a hoax call on Sunday night stating that a person was carrying bomb in his bag at Ambernath railway station. A bomb squad, Kalyan, Ambernath and Badlapur government railway officials reached the spot and checked the platform and the commuters. The callers were identified as Atul Prajapati, 27, and Pradip Prajapati, 28, both residents of Kalwa.

  • Shankar Hanmaiyya Mathmalla HT Photo

    Kidnapped from Mumbai, Telangana man found abandoned in Puducherry

    More than 12 days after a 47-year-old man was allegedly kidnapped from Sion, where he was to catch a bus to his hometown in Telangana, police have rescued him in Puducherry and reunited him with his family. Deputy commissioner of police, Sanjay Patil, zone IV, said a search is on to arrest the culprits. According to police, Mathmalla landed at the city airport from Dubai on June 22.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, July 04, 2022