Rohit Sharma was ODI’s leading run-getter in 2019(Getty Images)
Rohit Sharma was ODI’s leading run-getter in 2019(Getty Images)

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna honour

BCCI has nominated Rohit for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, while Ishant, Dhawan and Deepti Sharma have been nominated for Arjuna Awards.
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | By
UPDATED ON MAY 30, 2020 11:17 PM IST

The BCCI on Saturday nominated Rohit Sharma as its candidate for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for an outstanding 2019, while the likes of Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Deepti Yadav have been shortlisted for the Arjuna Award.

The period of consideration is between January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2019. In this while, Rohit has had a stellar run, becoming the first T20I cricketer to score four centuries and hold the record for the most 150-plus scores in ODIs – 8. Besides, since the beginning of 2017, Rohit has the most number of ODI centuries – 18. With 28 hundreds, Rohit is ranked fourth in the all-time leading ODI centurions.

Also Read | ‘He has evolved and blossomed’: Laxman explains reasons for Rohit Sharma’s success as IPL captain

Named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year for 2019, Rohit became the first player in history to score five ODI centuries in a single edition of the World Cup. He surpassed MS Dhoni to hit the maximum number of sixes in international matches on Indian soil. Later in the year, being assigned the responsibility of opening the batting in Tests, Rohit became the only player to have twin centuries in his maiden appearance as a Test opener.

“Rohit Sharma has set new benchmarks as a batsman and achieved scores people thought were not possible in the shorter formats of the game. We feel he is worthy of getting the prestigious Khel Ratna award for his commitment, conduct, consistency and his leadership skills,” BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said in a statement.

Also Read | ‘Was waiting for such a moment’: Dinesh Karthik recalls Nidahas Trophy final

Dhawan holds the record for the fastest Test century on debut and is the only batsman in the world to have won two consecutive golden bats (for most runs) in the ICC Champions Trophy. He is also the quickest Indian batsman to reach 2000 and 3000 runs in ODIs and second-fastest Indian to score 4000 and 5000 runs in ODIs.

“Shikhar has been consistently scoring at the top and his performances in the ICC events have been significant,” Ganguly said.

The youngest Indian to play all three formats of the game, Ishant has been leading the Indian pace bowling attack and holds the record for most wickets by an Indian pacer outside Asia. “Ishant Sharma is the most senior member of the Test squad and his contribution has been vital in Indian team’s long run as the No. 1 Test side. Fast bowlers are prone to injuries and Ishant has had a fair share of them but he has fought hard to be back on the park every time,” Ganguly said of Sharma.

A top-class allrounder, Deepti holds the record for the highest individual WODI score by an Indian player and is also the only Indian spinner to take six WODI wickets. “Deepti is a genuine all-rounder and her contribution to the team has been vital,” said the BCCI president.

Jay Shah, the Honorary Secretary of the BCCI didn’t hold back for his praises for the four cricketers.

“There is no bigger honour than representing your country and being nominated for national awards is a recognition of your hard work. In the last five years, Rohit Sharma has not only raised the bar with his individual performances but has also led the Indian team with distinction in Virat Kohli’s absence. Under his captaincy, India famously won the Asia Cup in UAE, the Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka and registered many bilateral series wins at home. Rohit has been a perfect team-man and a mentor to youngsters. He deserves the highest sporting honour in the country,” he said.

“Ishant Sharma has been a warhorse while Shikhar Dhawan lifts the team’s morale with his fearless approach. Deepti Sharma has contributed a lot in Indian team’s consistent showing in the big-ticket events.”

Virat Kohli was the last Indian cricketer to win the Khel Ratna award in 2018 and Arun Dhumal, the BCCI treasurer, hopes Rohit follows his India captain for the honour.

“The last Indian cricketer to win the Khel Ratna was Virat Kohli and I hope Rohit Sharma too, gets this top award as he thoroughly deserves it,” Dhumal said. “Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have justified their talent and put in performances that their fans can be proud of. Deepti Sharma has contributed both with the bat and ball and deserves her nomination.”

Story Saved