New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 23, 2019-Friday
-°C

Humidity
-

Wind
-

Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Aug 23, 2019

Disappointed Rohit Sharma takes to Twitter to suggest he was not out against West Indies

Rohit, who was ruled out on 18 off 23 balls, posted a close-up picture of his dismissal on his official Twitter page, suggesting that there was a significant gap between the bat and ball.

cricket Updated: Jun 28, 2019 18:30 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Manchester
India's Rohit Sharma leaves the pitch after losing his wicket for 18 during the 2019 Cricket World Cup group stage match between West Indies and India at Old Trafford in Manchester, northwest England, on June 27, 2019. (Photo by Dibyangshu Sarkar / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE
India's Rohit Sharma leaves the pitch after losing his wicket for 18 during the 2019 Cricket World Cup group stage match between West Indies and India at Old Trafford in Manchester, northwest England, on June 27, 2019. (Photo by Dibyangshu Sarkar / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE(AFP)
         

India opener Rohit Sharma Friday took to the social media to express his disappointment over his controversial dismissal against the West Indies here.

Rohit, who was ruled out on 18 off 23 balls, posted a close-up picture of his dismissal on his official Twitter page, suggesting that there was a significant gap between the bat and ball.

READ | Experts slam third umpire’s decision to give Rohit Sharma out

The picture posted by Rohit indicates that the ball clipped his right pad instead of the bat.

 

 

Rohit was visibly disappointed after being given out caught behind by wicketkeeper Shai Hope of the bowling of Kemar Roach in the match on Thursday.

The right-hander was deceived by an in-swinging delivery from Roach in the final ball of the sixth over and the West Indies team went up in appeal for caught behind, suggesting Rohit had got an inside-edge onto the wicketkeeper.

READ | Blue reign continues in Manchester

On-field umpire Richard Illingworth ruled it not-out but West Indies captain Jason Holder went for the review and third umpire Michael Gough overturned the call in the Caribbean side’s favour. The third umpire seemed to have gone by the snicko after repeated replays showed there was a gap between the bat and ball.

First Published: Jun 28, 2019 16:07 IST

more from cricket