New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 24, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Aug 24, 2019

Karun Nair to lead India A in 4-day games vs New Zealand A, Shardul Thakur in

Karun Nair will India A against New Zealand A in two four-day games at Vijayawada in September-October. Pacer Shardul Thakur has also found a place in the squad.

cricket Updated: Sep 10, 2017 14:28 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Karun Nair will lead the India A side vs New Zealand A.
Karun Nair will lead the India A side vs New Zealand A. (REUTERS)

Karun Nair will lead the India A side that will face New Zealand A in two four-day games at Vijayawada. Pacer Shardul Thakur, who was part of the Indian cricket team in the recently-concluded ODI series in Sri Lanka, has also found a place in the squad.

Nair, who last played for India in a Test match against Australia in March, will lead a side that includes promising cricketers likes Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ankit Rajput and Mohammed Siraj.

READ | Kapil Dev wants BCCI to purchase airplane for India cricket team

The inclusion of Shardul Thakur in the side is a notable one as the fast bowler was part of the India squad that whitewashed Sri Lanka 5-0. He even found a place in the playing XI in the last two ODIs that were played at Colombo.

However, the return of both Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami in India squad for the first three ODIs against Australia saw Shardul Thakur make way for the stalwarts.

The first four day game will begin on September 23.

READ | Joe Root eyes ‘special’ Ashes triumph after West Indies Test series win

India A squad: Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wickekeeper), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot.

New Zealand A squad: Henry Nicholls (captain), Todd Astle, Tom Blundell (wickekeeper), Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert (wicketkeeper), Ish Sodhi, Sean Solia, George Worker, Will Young, Jeet Raval.

First Published: Sep 10, 2017 14:18 IST

more from cricket