Today in New Delhi, India
May 20, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

KKR vs MI: Rohit Sharma joins Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni in IPL elite list

KKR vs MI: The other three cricketers to achieve this brilliant milestone apart from Rohit Sharma are MS Dhoni (169*), Gautam Gambhir (129) and Virat Kohli (108*).

cricket Updated: Apr 28, 2019 20:40 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
IPL 2019,KKR vs MI,Rohit Sharma
Mumbai Indians cricketer and team captain Rohit Sharma walks back after winning the 2019 Indian Premier League.(AFP)

Rohit Sharma became the fourth cricketer to play 100 matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) as skipper as he took the field for Mumbai Indians against Kolkata Knight Riders in Kolkata on Sunday. The other three cricketers to achieve this brilliant milestone are MS Dhoni (169*), Gautam Gambhir (129) and Virat Kohli (108*).

Out of the 99 matches till now, Rohit has 57 victories with an impressive win percentage of 58.08.

READ: IPL Live score, KKR vs MI at Eden Gardens

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to field first against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Facing a must-win situation to harbour any chances of qualifying for the playoffs, KKR brought up Robin Uthappa, Harry Gurney and Sandeep Warrier in place of Prasidh Krishna, Carlos Brathwaite and Prithvi Raj.

READ: Kohli shares light moment with Pant after surviving close call - Watch

Mumbai, looking for a ninth straight win over KKR, drafted in Barinder Sran in place of Anukul Roy.

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Quinton de Kock (w), Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Barinder Sran

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (w/c), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Sandeep Warrier, Harry Gurney

(With agency inputs)

First Published: Apr 28, 2019 20:40 IST