Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Suranga Lakmal named Sri Lanka cricket team’s vice-captain for Bangladesh Tests

Suranga Lakmal, who was Sri Lanka cricket team’s best bowler in the longest format in 2017, has been handed the vice-captaincy for the two-Test series against Bangladesh, starting January 31.

cricket Updated: Jan 13, 2018 14:47 IST
IANS, Colombo
Suranga Lakmal,Sri Lanka cricket team,Sri Lanka's tour of Bangladesh 2018
Suranga Lakmal has been named Sri Lanka cricket team’s vice-captain for the two Tests against Bangladesh, starting later this month. (BCCI )

Fast bowler Suranga Lakmal has been named the vice-captain for the Bangladesh Test series, Sri Lanka Cricket announced on Saturday. (SOUTH AFRICA vs INDIA 2nd TEST DAY 1 UPDATES)

After ending 2017 on a below-par note, which saw the Islanders being outplayed by India both at home and away, the Islanders under new coach Chandika Hathurusingha, have already made a few changes, including re-appointing Dinesh Chandimal as the leader of the Test team.

(Read | IPL auction 2018: England Test captain Joe Root to compete with Gayle, Bravo, Maxwell)

The Test squad also sees the return of batsmen Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka while there is an added emphasis on pace, with Dushmantha Chameera and 20-year-old Lahiru Kumara being picked.

But it is the first-time selection of unorthodox offspinner Akila Dananjaya that is the strongest indication that the selectors and new coach are looking at taking Sri Lanka’s attack in a new direction.

(Read | ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup: Rahul Dravid’s India face Australia in opener)

Lakmal has been rewarded for a good 2017 with the team’s vice-captaincy while Rangana Herath and Dilruwan Perera head up the spin department, with left-arm wristspinner Lakshan Sandakan also included.

Right-arm seam bowler Lahiru Gamage has been picked as well.

There are notable omissions as well with pacemen Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando and all-rounder Dasun Shanaka, being left out.

Among the batsmen to be dropped are Lahiru Thirimanne and Sadeera Samarawickrama along with all-rounder Asela Gunaratne, and Kusal Perera -- both of whom are, however, in the ODI squad.


Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Roshen Silva, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Dilruwan Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Gamage, Lahiru Kumara.

First Published: Jan 13, 2018 14:19 IST