New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 21, 2019-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Monday, Oct 21, 2019

‘Thank you Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni’: Aaron Finch lauds duo for incredible gesture

Aaron Finch revealed he was gifted jerseys by Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni during the series between Indian and Australia in March earlier this year.

cricket Updated: Apr 29, 2019 08:28 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Aaron Finch poses with Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni’s jerseys.
Aaron Finch poses with Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni’s jerseys.(Aaron Finch/ Instagram)

Australia ODI skipper Aaron Finch heaped praise on India captain Virat Kohli and wicket-keeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni for their wonderful gesture on Sunday.

Finch revealed he was gifted jerseys by Kohli and Dhoni during the series between India and Australia in March earlier this year. Finch’s troops had beaten the ‘Men in Blue in both T20I and ODI series at home before the start of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Also Read: Indian captain Virat Kohli all set to vote on May 12 in Gurugram

The Australian skipper’s Instagram post read: “Thank you @virat.kohli & @mahi7781. Very lucky to have been given a shirt by both guys during the last series we played against India. Whilst we battle it out hard for our countries on the field, the respect I have for 2 of the games all time greats is huge! It’s important to take some time to be grateful and appreciate the opportunities we have been given!”

The two teams will now cross paths once again at the ICC World Cup 2019, which starts May 30 in UK. India play their second match of the tournament against Australia after their opening encounter against South Africa.

Both India and Australia are touted as favourites to lift the crown at the iconic Lord’s on July 14. While India will pin their hopes on talismanic skipper Virat Kohli, Australia have been boosted by the return of Steve Smith and David Warner.

Also Read: Twitter in splits after Ashton Turner gets off the mark after 5 T20s - Watch

India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Alex Carey, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon

First Published: Apr 28, 2019 17:10 IST

top news