Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Virat Kohli to receive Polly Umrigar Award, R Ashwin gets Dilip Sardesai Award

Virat Kohli will be presented with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award, while R Ashwin will also become the first Indian cricketer to receive the Dilip Sardesai Award twice.

cricket Updated: Mar 01, 2017 20:54 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
New Delhi
Virat Kohli,Polly Umrigar Award,R Ashwin
Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin will receive the Polly Umrigar Award and the Dilip Sardesai Award respectively.(AFP)

India captain Virat Kohli will be presented with the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award, given to BCCI’s International Cricketer of the Year, at the Annual Awards to be held in Bengaluru on March 8.

Virat Kohli will become the first to receive the award thrice. He had won the award in 2011-12 and in 2014-15.

Virat would want to receive the award smiling from ear to ear and much of that will depend on how India fare in Bengaluru in the second Test which is scheduled to end on March 8. With India suffering a humiliating 333-run loss in the first Test in Pune, skipper Virat will have his work cut out in Bengaluru.

Virat had an amazing 2016 scoring double hundreds in four consecutive series starting with West Indies. It was the longest such sequence and Virat went past Don Bradman and Rahul Dravid who had done it in three successive series.

READ | Now pitch-fixing in cricket? Ex-BCCI official wants CBI to probe Pune massacre

R Ashwin will also become the first to receive the Dilip Sardesai Award given to the top performer on the West Indies tour twice.

In the four-match Test series last year, Ashwin, who was named the ICC cricketer of the Year, was the Man of the Series. He scored two centuries and picked 17 wickets including two five-wicket hauls in the series.

The all-rounder first won the Dilip Sardesai Award for the three-match Test series in 2011.

The BCCI Annual Awards committee consisting of Mr. N. Ram, Mr. Ramachandra Guha and Ms. Diana Edulji had nominated Mr. Rajinder Goel and Mr. Padmakar Shivalkar for the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Mumbai Cricket Association has been chosen as the State Association of the Season (2015-16) for winning the Ranji Trophy, the CK Nayudu Trophy and also the Women’s Plate League Group. They were runner-up in the Cooch Behar Trophy, the Vijay Merchant Trophy and the Women’s One-Day Elite Group.

First Published: Mar 01, 2017 20:26 IST