Powered by Rambeer ton, Haryana lifts North Zone blind cricket cup
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Powered by Rambeer ton, Haryana lifts North Zone blind cricket cup

Chasing 334, uttar Pradesh were all out for 77 runs in 14.1 overs; Haryana captain Deepak Malik was adjudged the man of the series

dehradun Updated: Oct 26, 2017 19:39 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
North Zone Blind Cricket Tournament,NZBCT,Haryana
Champions Haryana pose with the shield. (Vinay s Kumar/HT Photo)

Haryana beat Uttar Pradesh to win the North Zone Blind Cricket Tournament (NZBCT) in the final match at the Maharana Pratap Sports College ground on Thursday.

Haryana captain Deepak Malik was adjudged the ‘man of the series title’ in B3 category, Gaurav of Delhi in B2 category and Shaukat Ali of Uttar Pradesh in B1 category.

Malik scored 61 runs in 42 balls and took four wickets. Earlier, Uttar Pradesh won the toss and decided to field first. Haryana posted 333 runs in 35 over. For Haryana, Rambeer was the highest scorer scoring 117 runs and was adjudged man of the match.

Chasing a target of 334 runs, Uttar Pradesh batsmen collapsed in a heap to be bowled all out for a mere 77 runs in 14.1 overs. Md Faizal was scored the maximum with 20 runs. Vineet scalped the wickets of four rival batsmen.

BJP state president and chief guest Ajay Bhatt gave away the prize money and the shield to the winning team. Haryana pocketed Rs 50,000 cash prize while UP got Rs 30,000. In his address, Bhatt said Uttarakhand needs to host more NZBC-like tournaments in the future. He assured help from the state to organise sporting events for the disabled.

Prof Durgesh Pant, director of Uttarakhand Science Education and Research Centre, said the USERC would be happy to develop technology based tools for around 12% people facing any type of disability. USERC was the tournament’s local partner.

NZBCT general secretary Shailendra Yadav said seven teams participated in the four-day tournament that began on October 23. The teams consisted three categories of cricketers – B1 (blind), B2 (those who are partially blind) and B3 (those who are partially sighted).

First Published: Oct 26, 2017 19:39 IST