FIFA World Cup 2018: Croatia’s Luka Modric wins Golden Ball award
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

FIFA World Cup 2018: Croatia’s Luka Modric wins Golden Ball award

Croatia’s Luka Modric was awarded the FIFA World Cup 2018 Golden Ball for being the best player of the tournament, beating Antoine Griezmann and Eden Hazard.

football Updated: Jul 15, 2018 23:37 IST
FIFA World Cup 2018,FIFA World Cup,Luka Modric
Croatia midfielder Luka Modric won the Golden Ball award of the FIFA World Cup 2018 despite losing the final to France on Sunday in Moscow.(AFP)

Luka Modric has won the Golden Ball for the best player at the 2018 FIFA World Cup. (World Cup final blog)

The Croatia captain and Real Madrid midfielder inspired his side to the final for the first time in their history but was powerless to prevent Didier Deschamps’ men from taking the trophy 4-2 in Moscow.

Modric beat Belgium forward Eden Hazard and Antoine Griezmann, who claimed a winner’s medal after netting for Les Bleus in the final, to the prize.

FIFA’s Technical Study Group decided the winner of the award, which was given to Argentina’s Lionel Messi in 2014.

READ | Adaptability helps France beat Croatia to lift FIFA World Cup for the second time

Past winners include Zinedine Zidane, Brazil great Ronaldo, Diego Maradona and Paolo Rossi.

Modric is also among the early favourites to win the 2018 Ballon d’Or later this year.

First Published: Jul 15, 2018 23:36 IST