Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 12, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Video highlights of Indian Super League (ISL) 2017-18 final between Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC

Chennaiyin FC lifted their game to a level befitting the occasion and sent fancied Bengaluru FC crushing to a painful 2-3 defeat, thus clinching the Indian Super League (ISL) title in style

football Updated: Mar 18, 2018 09:49 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Indian Super League,ISL 2017-18,Bengaluru FC
Raphael Augusto of Chennaiyin FC celebrates a goal during the final of Indian Super League against Chennaiyin FC t the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bengaluru, on Saturday.(ISL / SPORTZPICS)

Chennaiyin FC were crowned champions for the second time in Indian Super League history after a valiant 3-2 comeback win against mighty Bengaluru FC at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium, Bengaluru, on Saturday. Sunil Chhetri had opened the scoring as early as the ninth minute but a brace from Mailson Alves and a beautiful goal from Raphael Augusto ensured that the unfancied Chennaiyin lifted the title once again after 2015 when they defeated FC Goa, also at home. Miku scored a late goal but it hardly mattered in the end. (ISL final highlights)

It was a brilliant night of enthralling football as both sides went for the jugular. The margins were fine in the end, but the scoreline was proof of Chennaiyin’s ruthlessness in front of goal.

READ | ISL final: Chennaiyin FC stun Bengaluru FC, become two-time champions

It took just nine minutes for the first goal and it was the usual suspect Chhetri who capitalised on a deflected cross from Udanta Singh to score a lovely low header. It was Mailson Alves who had deflected the cross but would make amends later with two goals.

The turning point came in the 67th minute when Nelson was at it again - this time however, Jeje Lalpekhlua, who hardly made a mark on the game, made a vital contribution. Nelson started the move by finding Jeje, who chose Raphael Augusto in a good position. Augusto finished the move off with a curling finish which left Gurpreet with no chance at all. At 3-1, Bengaluru had no chance but to go all-out attack.

Miku scored in added time though, converting from Udanta’s cross, but it was too late by then. Chennaiyin ran down the clock and emerged champions to equal ATK’s record.

First Published: Mar 18, 2018 09:21 IST