New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 20, 2019-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Sep 20, 2019

BJP wrests both seats from Congress in Arunachal bypolls

BJP now has 49 MLAs in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh state assembly.

india Updated: Dec 24, 2017 20:56 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, Itanagar
Election observers inspecting the EVM at a distribution centre, ahead of RK Nagar bypolls in Chennai.
Election observers inspecting the EVM at a distribution centre, ahead of RK Nagar bypolls in Chennai.(PTI Photo/Representative image)

The BJP on Sunday wrested both the Pakke-Kessang and Likabali Assembly seats from the Congress in the by-elections to these constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh.

With this, the 60-member state Assembly now has 49 MLAs from the saffron party, nine from the Peoples’ Party of Arunachal (PPA), one Congress and one Independent legislator.

B R Waghe of the BJP won the Pakke-Kessang seat by a narrow margin of 475 votes, defeating his lone rival and former deputy chief minister, Kameng Dolo of the Congress.

While Waghe polled 3,517 votes, Dolo bagged 3,042, Joint Chief Electoral Officer D J Bhattacharjee said.

In the Likabali seat, BJP’s Kardo Nyigyor won by a slender margin of 305 votes, defeating his nearest rival, Gumke Riba of the PPA.

While the BJP candidate polled 3,461 votes, the PPA nominee secured 3,156 votes in the constituency, which witnessed a multi-cornered contest.

While Congress candidate Modam Dini could secure only 362 votes, the lone Independent candidate, Sengo Taipodia, bagged 675 votes.

The constituency also saw 23 voters opting for NOTA, Bhattacharjee said.

Over 68.5% electors had cast their votes in the December 21 bypolls, with Pakke-Kessang recording an 86-per cent voter turnout and Likabali 51%.

The Likabali seat had fallen vacant after then health and family welfare minister Jomde Kena passed away on September 4.

The Pakke-Kessang seat fell vacant after the Gauhati high court declared the election of Dolo from the constituency in the March 15, 2014 polls null and void, following an election petition filed by BJP nominee and former minister Atum Welly.

Union minister of state for home Kiren Rijiju congratulated the BJP members for the victory in the bypolls.

Terming the victories as a perfect Christmas gift to the party as well as the state government and the Centre, Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu assured to reciprocate the gesture in the truest sense.

“This Christmas celebration has become all the more special. People of the two constituencies (Likabali and Pakke-Kessang) have shown that they are with good governance and development,” he said.

“By electing BJP nominees they (people) foresee accelerated development of their respective regions,” Khandu said in a statement.

Khandu reiterated that the by-elections were fought by the party on development and clean governance plank - the sole objective of the BJP since it formed the government in the state.

He congratulated both the winners – BR Waghe and Kardo Nyigyor – and expressed confidence that they would live up to the expectations of their respective electorates.

First Published: Dec 24, 2017 16:59 IST